hello joe! any explaination?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by kasperking, Mar 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    joe...when i connect through pppoe mode in my d-link router prevx takes 30-40 minutes to scan :eek: but in bridge mode/dial up bb connection it takes little over 1 minute :p
    what could be the reason ?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It would look as if it is breaking the connection - does PPPoE mode in your router require any proxy access or login details? You may need to configure a proxy within Prevx, but I'm honestly not sure as I don't use PPPoE mode at all :doubt:
     
  3. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    no

    Yes

    how ?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This screen-shot may help!

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

  5. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    thanks TH
    but setting proxy for what ? prevx o_O?
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yea really I have not used PPPoE mode myself in 6 years so I wouldn't know either o_O as I use cable Internet and they require DHCP!

    Maybe you can supply more details to help Joe out that's all I can suggest!

    TH
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Indeed... I'm *hoping* I'll be able to help but I also have not used PPPoE in many years. How frequently do you need to use PPPoE mode? (i.e. would it be possible to always stay in bridged/dialup mode when scanning with Prevx?)

    How slow are other internet-facing programs when in PPPoE mode? I'm wondering if it is a general issue or just one with Prevx itself. It may also be worth seeing if the performance of Prevx improves at all if you reboot and have PPPoE the default on the next bootup.

    Let me know! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.