HDM15Pro Problem

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by cepstralpeak, Feb 3, 2016.

  1. cepstralpeak

    cepstralpeak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
    I am somewhat disappointed with HDM 15 Pro. It has wonderful new features having to do with virtual disks and I like them but it does not seem to duplicate what it claims. It does not seem to duplicate the legacy features.

    I can create pVHD and validate my backup to it, but there is no way I found to treat that pVHD as a mounted file system. While I can use the browser I am confined to using only the Paragon browser which limits my ability to check things like md5sums on files that were backed up.

    I can backup directly to a VHD or a VHDX but I cannot validate either one of those. I can export my pVHD to one of the supported Microsoft VHD formats or even the vmware format but that means doubling my time and storage requirements which are significant for a full backup of more than 200 gigabytes on my laptop.

    Knowing this I opted to do a full backup with the legacy tools. I like the fact that I can create bootable SD card media on windows 10 that works pretty well. And I can create that legacy backup of my OS volume and validate it and also mount that Backup as a disc and inspect the files from the backup with whatever tools I like.

    But, when I went to restore my legacy volume backup, I was prompted with a file level restore. I expected to do a sector level restore which would guarantee that any attributes files had would be replaced in exactly the same way ( wrong or right ) that they were on the original disc. Since this is the whole point of doing a sector-based volume backup I'm a little disappointed. I wasn't sure what an OS backup was and I had not got around to that to seeing what it did because I wanted to do the entire C Drive and be sure I could recover from a catastrophe.

    So, is there anyway to do a sector level restore of my hard drive from the WinPE recovery media that I have generated with HDM 15 Pro?
     
  2. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    While viewing your archives, you have two drop down, on the one that's showing "Show All", select "Partition View", right click on your archive and select "Mount the Selected Archive". You can use any file manager on the drive you want but it only remains active during your Paragon session.
     
  3. cepstralpeak

    cepstralpeak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
    Thanks Bill. It seems very odd that the mount fails with "show all" dropdown selected, but that the mount works with the "show partitions" dropdown. I'll check the manual to see if that direction is given. HDM12 is what I've been using since early 2013. I did manage to do a sector level restore of the legacy backup with the free emergency recovery tool. I think that part of the HDM14 family.
     
  4. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    While in "Show Partitions", a delete archive will fail. Took me a few to figure that out too.