HD total fail:

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tronic592001, May 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    I got two hard drives one for backup, on my backup hard drive ive got 4 partitions. I then keep 4 images on my backup HD each in a separate partition, difrent dates of creation.


    If my system drive C: crashed completly with no recovery whatsoever, How would i restore the backups or (backup) thats on my backup drive.

    Would i be able to just put a boot disk in and pick a backup and then restore it on to same drive??

    :ninja:
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Yes, you would be able to boot with the TI Rescue CD, pick a backup and Restore that backup to whatever drive you replaced C with. Or if it was just a software snafu on your C drive, just Restore to that C drive. Everything will be automatically be overwritten.

    Of course anything you added to the C drive after you did the backup will not be there.
     
  3. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Chutsman thanks for reply:

    What i mean is if my C: system disk dies completly then all i got is my backup drive (internal)...

    So i would take out my dead drive replace it with my backup drive, which holds all my backups.


    then boot with TI CD and restore from my backup drive directly onto the same drive...

    Is this posibleo_O
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I am never faced with that sort of problem because I have on hand a spare hard drive to cope with a hard drive failure. If you drive a motor car I bet it carries a spare wheel !

    Xpilot
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    "Is this posible"
    No. You can't restore to the same drive your backups are on.
    What you should do is get a replacement for your C: drive, install it where the failed one was and restore onto that.

    OK – Maybe.
    If you restore from one partition on your backup drive to another partition on that same drive. But the target partition would have to be big enough to hold all the C: drive data.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Another option would be to burn the backup image files to DVD and then do the restore from them onto the backup drive. That is why I always split my image files - just in case I need to put them onto a DVD.
     
  7. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    So my only other option would be instead of a image make a clone.

    without thinking about DVD's but need to hold a backup on DVD..

    but only draw back there is my backup drive will become no good for storeing files only a clone, as at the moment ive partitioned it with 4 partitions.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tronic592001,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that as TheWeaz said you will be able to restore the image to the same hard drive where it is stored only if it is image archive of the partition (not the entire hard drive).

    Well, in this case you will need to clone the hard drive each time you want to "update" the cloned hard drive to the up-to-date state of the current system. Please also take a look at this FAQ article explaining the difference between Clone Disk and Backup approaches in more detail.

    You can also store the image to DVD discs or another supported storage device.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.