Haute Secure

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by illicit, Dec 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. illicit

    illicit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    Is anyone using this currently or has used it recently? I am looking for some opinions on effectiveness, as it seems like it would be a great program to recommend to those that are "technically challenged". Thanks in advance. :D
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    I used it on my son's PC after Vista64 first service pack (SP1) it caused BSOD, have not seen it been updated since

    In my opinion
    Vista64 + VistaFW + Norton UAC Tool + HautSecure + IE7/8 in protected mode = damned good protection, no need for HIPS, only AV required (MsDefender on 64 bits = not great but not bad neither)
     
  3. illicit

    illicit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    Thanks, good to know. Am I correct in saying that Haute Secure has a "light" sandboxing element to it?
     
  4. DarkButterfly

    DarkButterfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    Yes, Haute Secure provides some sort of sandboxing, except, that it won't prevent temporary files from getting into the system. That's the main difference.

    HauteSecure is a mix of bad sites blocker + "light" HIPS and Behavior Blocker + sort of sandboxing.

    I've been using it since it first came out and it is a great tool.

    The only problem is that the official forum is kind of dead for a long time. There is no plans for a future final release or rc version. Even less plans for the version 3.0 to come out. Other than that... it is great indeed.

    One other problem is that there is no help file to walk people through all those settings. Most won't know how to tweak it to offer even better protection.

    Best regards

    P.S: I was wondering how great it would work within Sandboxie. Never tried. I might give it a try. :D
     
  5. demonon

    demonon Guest

    A LUA perhaps for a damned good protection?
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    In Vista you run least user rights with UAC on, UAC was developed to run sort of LUA without having several user accounts.

    I am running XP Pro limited user right now, protects you from 80% of the nasties. Be sure you remove null accounts in XP.
     
  7. Arup

    Arup Guest

    LUA+SuRun+DEP full system wide+Avira free or paid and Windows Defender in Spynet mode which makes it HIPS is an excellent and reliable protection one that doesn't slow down the system as well. Add browsers like Opera or FF and you are fully safe, even in Windows world.
     
  8. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    'Be sure you remove null accounts in XP.'

    I'd be happy to.
    What are they and where are they hiding?
    Thanks.
    Happy New Year.
    Hugger
     
  9. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    A degree of Haute Secure technology has been incorporated within Opera browser for some time now (since ver.9.5 I believe) without any conflicts I'm aware of,however I'm not sure exactly which elements are integrated apart from bad site blocking.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Google for a program called "Security & Privacy Complete" (.exe). Disable Null sessions

    Happy new year to you 2
     
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    http://hautesecure.com/press.aspx

    You'll know all about it there.

    Edit: By the way, does any one know how to tweak HauteSecure to offer even better protection? Unfortunately, there is no help file with it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    I do not remember very well,

    Go to the Adminstrator tool, select profiles, global profiles are applicable to ALL programs, audit profiles for one specific program.

    I should not use global profile, but you can harden IE of FF as explained in https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=205330
     
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Thank you for your feedback!

    I just hope that, whenever it comes out, the final version, perhaps 3.0, comes more structured and with a detailed help file. The concept behind HauteSecure is one of the best and if people knew how to tweak for a even greater protection, it would be perfect.

    Regards
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Moonblood,

    I have setup Malware defnder as a simular soft sandbox (Haute Secure) is. No intrusions allowed, no registry writes allowed, no file writes to directories allowed, except a few explicitely mentioned.

    I run a classical HIPS (Malware Defender) which only contains the internet facing aps like Haute Secure does. MD does not allow direct and low level access of disk, keyboard and registry of any other application. Running LUA with some SRP and Avast makes it a pop-up quiet and user friendly strong defense.

    Cheers
     
  15. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    For what I can see in the Administration panel, it is also possible to block CLSIDs.

    It could be useful to block spyware and other forms of malware, the same way SpywareBlaster works? Is that correct?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.