Has it or has it not scanned a file ??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by zooburner, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    I just ran a sacn on a recently downloaded file and this is what the log showed.

    Date: 20.10.2006 Time: 19:44:24
    Scanned disks, folders and files: I:\downloads\jennys iriver software\Manager_V317_installsheld.exe
    Number of scanned files: 0
    Number of threats found: 0
    Time of completion: 19:44:24 Total scanning time: 0 sec (00:00:00)

    Has it, or has it not scanned the file ??

    Zoo
     
  2. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Is NOD32 working ?

    When i manually scan downloaded files i seem to be getting this

    Date: 20.10.2006 Time: 19:44:24
    Scanned disks, folders and files: I:\downloads\jennys iriver software\Manager_V317_installsheld.exe
    Number of scanned files: 0
    Number of threats found: 0
    Time of completion: 19:44:24 Total scanning time: 0 sec (00:00:00)

    Date: 21.10.2006 Time: 03:16:20
    Scanned disks, folders and files: I:\downloads\there\install_there.exe
    Number of scanned files: 0
    Number of threats found: 0
    Time of completion: 03:16:20 Total scanning time: 0 sec (00:00:00)


    if you notice it shows files scanned as '0' and time taken as '00.00.00' .. is NOD32 working, has it, or has it not scanned the file ive asked it to scan ??, i tried the same files on my other computer which has NAV installed and in both cases it shows that it has scanned the file !!
     
  3. grnemo

    grnemo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Re: Is NOD32 working ?

    Scan a bigger file

    :):)
    It really scans! :)
     
  4. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Re: Is NOD32 working ?

    The files are 29mb and 59 mb and should at least acknowledge that a file has been scanned, if you notice it doasnt even log that it has scanned a file ''number of files canned = 0 ''
     
  5. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Re: Is NOD32 working ?

    In any case NAV detects that it has canned the same files ona different computer !!
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hello zooburner,

    As you already had a thread going from yesterday concerning this matter....I have merged these 2 threads so We do not have duplicate threads going of the same subject matter.

    Bubba

    As for your problem....what type drive is the I drive....usb, external hard drive....etc ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2006
  7. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Seeing as the files you are trying to scan are installers and/or self-extracting archives, could you please check your NOD32 setup?

    See if you really have a checkmark next to the following three options in the setup:

    "Archives (e.g. zip/rar files)"
    "Self-extracting archives"
    "Runtime packers"

    (and of course that "Files" is checked).
     
  8. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    ''As for your problem....what type drive is the I drive....usb, external hard drive....etc ?''

    I drive is an external hard drive

    See if you really have a checkmark next to the following three options in the setup:

    "Archives (e.g. zip/rar files)"
    "Self-extracting archives"
    "Runtime packers"

    (and of course that "Files" is checked


    Yes to all of those

    could it be thatit doasnt treat 'exe' files as files ??
     
  9. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249

    I was hoping you'd get an answer by now!
    As to scanning executables, I observed scanning rates of 5 files per second on an .exe of 75MB/5 files. And at 678 files per second on an .exe of 480MB/4073 files.
    Then if it scans all the files in less than a second, the time is displayed as zero. But it tells how many files were scanned.
    The only way I could duplicate the results you got was to scan an empty folder. It didn't matter whether it was on an internal or external drive or if it was a .exe, .jpg, .doc or whatever.
     
  10. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    If it says "number of files scanned: 0", then NOD32 didn't scan the file. And if NOD32 doesn't scan the file, something is wrong with his setup or he's probably using some other security software that is keeping NOD32 from scanning files (though I don't know what program that would be).

    I tried myself scanning many different .exe's (installers and regular program files) through right-click scan. It always says it's scanned at least 1 file.

    I'm going to guess he did not properly check to really make sure all Scan options are checked in NOD32's On-Demand scan setup (of course in the Context menu Profile, if he's doing a right-click scan), or that he somehow changed the extensions NOD32 scans.

    Check to make sure that your settings are like in the picture I have attached (and make sure you really are in the "On-Demand" settings window):
    nod32_cont.JPG

    -- Making sure that you are really in the settings for the Context menu profile (as point number 1 shown in the pic), if not, go to the profiles tab and change profile.
    -- Making sure that at least all the options in the scan settings I have checked (point number 2 shown in the pic) are also checked in his.
    -- Making sure the extensions that NOD32 is supposed to scan have not been messed with (point number 3 shown in the pic). When "Scan all files" is checked in this setting, .EXE is not supposed to be listed as an excluded extension (unless you don't want .EXE's to be scanned by NOD32).
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2006
  11. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I'll second that - an empty folder called 'Manager_V317_installsheld.exe' looks likely, in which case NOD32 reports correctly 0 files scanned.

    Can you confirm this please zooburner?

    Cheers :)
     
  12. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Hiya there
    thanks for all your replies.

    I have checked all the settings as in the posts provided and all is set properly
    the file in question is in fcat an 'exe' file, it not only seems to get that result on just that 'exe' file, but two or three 'exe' files i have on my puter.

    these are real files as i have used then to install products onto my computer im not overly concerned about the files safety as they come from a trusted source, what i am concerned about is the fact that NOD32 isnt showing them as scanned files.

    zooburner
     
  13. sick0

    sick0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Posts:
    143
    how do you scan them?

    via the context menu?
     
  14. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    yes right click and choose nod32
     
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Please confirm the following:-

    Right click on one of the files you speak of and scan with NOD32
    After the scan stops, don't click quit but instead click on the 'Setup' tab and check it looks just like the one pictured here (except for PDA detection, at your preference). If it was not already set as pictured in the link above then you may also wish to confirm the setting on other tabs are as you would wish them to be for the 'Context menu Profile' that a right-click scan uses. Then close the window clicking 'Yes' to save changes when asked.

    HTH

    Cheers :)
     
  16. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Hiya there

    I got it now, it was the ticking of ''Alternative NTFS Streams'' that made it scan the file .. though why i do not know it used to scan exe's no problem.

    does anyone know exactly what an ''Alternative NTFS Stream'' is ?? i know by ticking that option it now works, but i dont know why that particular option would make the difference given that it is set to scan 'all files' ?? and all the other boxes (except for e-mail) were ticked !

    Zoo
     
  17. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.