Has IE 7's Vista "protected mode" been tested?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I could not see anywhere on the net where "protected mode" was put through the normal wringer of tests against malware. Does anyone know of any?

    thanks
     
  2. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Acr1965,

    It's my understanding that Vista as well as Apple's 'protected mode' is similar to 'DropMyRights' and lowers the rights/privileges that programs have. Hence malware can't attack the OS. So I guess testing of Vista/IE7 protected mode would be the same as testing a limited account.

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    IE's protected mode goes further than a limited account.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Interesting piece. It seems like there would be all sorts of people wanting to tests its vulnerabilities. If I am reading things correctly, the piece is nearly 18 months old. Kinda weird nobody has published much about putting it through its paces.
     
  5. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    There are some reports about protected mode preventing malware infections.
    More information
     
  6. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hello,

    With little work, you can run Firefox in protected mode too on Vista (last post) :
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17807814?hilite=uipi

    However, you will need to edit yourself the two batch files or run the commands yourself in command line. It has to be done just once to set Firefox with a low integrity level like IE protected mode.

    Regards,
    gkweb.

    EDIT : you can add this line to the batch file if you don't like the "right click to download" workaround :
    Code:
    REM # Temp folder
    icacls "C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\Temp"  /setintegritylevel (OI)(CI)low
    
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2007
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    If someone would post on his webpage, that IE7 is actually safer or has less vulnerabilities than some other browsers, he would loose visitors, so who would do it?! News pages did and do it, but people just ignore it. Also, who interests in Microsoft knows, what both, IE7 in Vista and Vista, provide. These days, almost no one cares about facts, it is about marketing, which says "MS and its products sucks", so who cares about some Protected Mode or UAC, just view MAC ADs. [​IMG]
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.