Has anyone used Spyware Doctor?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Daveski17, Dec 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Has or does anyone use Spyware Doctor? If so, how does it compare to other anti-malware apps? I'm just curious, thanks.
     
  2. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I used it years ago.

    Then they released a 'final' version that was worse than the worst beta version I'd ever seen.

    A very bad product, and very unethical practices by Pctools. Since then the company has lost my confidence.

    I don't know how the latest version 'performs'.

    But in my experience you don't need an antispyware application if you have a good AV/suite (check for AVs that perform well in av-comparatives.org).
    Viruses and spyware have blended into 'malware', and the good AVs/suites can handle both. Just make sure you keep your applications patched, remove vulnerable applications that you don't need. And of course, use 'common sense', which includes using a safely configured browser.

    If you want to invest money I recommend getting a good imaging setup (hardware and software).

    For removing personal data, I suggest CCleaner, slim build (http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds)
    Don't forget to flush Flash cookies once in a while.

    And a good read: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=252253
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks for the information. I was just wondering. I have a complete AV suite & even a hardware firewall in my hub/router. The AV is highly rated by AV Comparitives. I also use Windows Defender, SUPERAntiSpyware & SpywareBlaster. My main browsers are Opera 10.10 & K-Meleon 1.5.3 (with SRWare Iron as back up). For an added precaution I can easily toggle javascript off/on with K-Meleon by pressing F7 & Opera can be set up to toggle the JS on/off fairly easily for added protection.

    Plus, I'm just careful! :cool:
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.