Hardware Firewall - Is this necessary for me?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Sxperm, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sxperm

Sxperm Registered Member

Here is my PC security set up.

Kaspersky Personal Pro 6
    ZA Pro 7
    Prevx2

I'm using ADSL modem and thinking about change to ADSL Modem Router with hardware firewall integrated. Is it worth to add hardware firewall combined with software firewall? If it's ok then please suggest me good ADSL Modem Router with hardware firewall. Thanks for your help. :D

2. Long View

Long View Registered Member

Re: Hardware Firewall - Is this neccessary for me?

My opinion is that a hardware is far more important that a software firewall.
    I have limited experience, having only ever had one Hardware Firewall but it has now been running for 4 years and as far as I'm aware I have had no problems.
    Netgear DG834 - must be more modern version by now. As I don't use any on line security ( ie no anti-virus, no anti-spyware, no hips, no software firewall)
    I have to assume that no one wants to attach me or that the Netgear is helping in some way.

3. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

I tried a router/hardware FW at one time but found it unnecessary for me as I'm on a standalone machine, not part of a network.

The main advantage of a hardware FW for a standalone set-up would be the fact you are protected the moment you plug it in; even if your software FW fails to load or gets killed off you will still have incoming protection. But as I say it's not strictly essential.

If you're part of a network you'll be using a router so it would be a good idea to combine with a FW.

4. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member