Hard Drive Cloning Software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Nov 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Someone I know plans to clone his existing laptop hard drive to a new larger laptop hard drive. He plans to have the target larger hard drive in a USB2 Dock during the cloning. He plans to use Acronis TI to do the cloning. Should Acronis TI work OK or does anyone recommend any other alternative software to do the job?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I've done this with no issues in the past.

    Blue
     
  3. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    ATI has always produced perfect images and clones for us, but with just about any software, ymmv. ;)

    PS. You didn't mention the version of Windows your friend has, nor the version of ATI. Make sure that the version of ATI you plan to install supports his OS. However, if you create the clone from ATI's boot disk none of this should matter so long as the boot disk sees his hard drives!
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  4. DLE

    DLE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Most retail (boxed) non OEM drives come with software to perform a clone. This might be an alternative to TI and will come with better support.
     
  5. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Two good solutions :
    HDClone, free version, from Miray Software
    CopyWipe from TerabyteUtilities
     
  6. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    If at first the clone drive doesn't work (won't bootup), you will need to do what is called a "reverse clone". Some brands of laptops have a different "chs geometry" that requires the new drive to be inside the laptop when the clone is performed.

    more info
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=209574
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.