Hard Drive Backup - Partitions or Disk?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aussiegtc, Jan 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aussiegtc

    aussiegtc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Hi,

    A few questions to "those in the know" about getting a full system backup that is reliable and can be restored effectively.

    I am running Windows XP MCE SP2 and have an internal 750GB SATA drive which is partioned into three drives (C: Windows and Applications, D Drive for Documents and Pictures and E: for Video Recordings made with media center).

    As I don't need to backup the video recordings on the E: drive (and they're big and always changing anyway), I am currently only running a partition backup of the C and D drives. Monthly full, Weekly incrementals..

    Is this strategy and "partition backup" sufficient to enable a full recovery of the boot drive and documents drive? I have read elsewhere that you might need to actually backup the "disk" rather than the "partition".

    Thanks,
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello aussiegtc,

    If using True Image 9.0 Home Build 3567 or later then the answer is "yes" as the MBR/Track 0 data is included in the image at all times. When using any version/build of TI prior to Build 3567, the MBR/Track 0 data is only included in the backup image if you selected the whole of the disk drive.

    Just remember, if restoring the partitions to a replacement drive (or the boot info on the original drive has become corrupted), you will also need to select the MBR and Track 0 data as part of the restore.

    Regards

    EDIT - additional clarification provided
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  3. Rickk

    Rickk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    49
    Dear menorcaman,
    I think I may have a similar situation.

    This may be a silly question but when you say:

    Which ATI would you be referring to: 8 9 or 10?
    I have ATI Server 8.0 build 800, btw.
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Menorcaman was referring to ATI Home 9.0.3567
     
  5. aussiegtc

    aussiegtc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Thanks Menorcaman - much appreciated!

    I'm running TI10 so the partition backup will be fine..... it's a little hard to understand the documentation wording at times... :)

    cheers,
    Andrew
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Andrew,

    The sheer number of posts/threads in this forum suggests that you're not wrong :p :D

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.