hard disk suite 2010, RECOVERY issue

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by aoz, Mar 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    help.
    tablet pc. Hibernate worked. Installed win7 SP1. it broke hibernate.
    OK, used recovery of a backup of 2/11/2011. Used HDsuite 2010 to backup, and to recover.
    It recovered the c: partition.
    BUT, questions and problems.

    1. I backed up the following
    1. Track 1 2. MBR 3. Drive C

    When I RECOVER, I can ONLY see the ability to recover drive Co_O?

    I used to use Acronis TrueImage.
    IT had ability to recover, separately, hte
    1. track 1 2. MBR 3. Drive C 4. Other drives,, etc

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    108
    Nope your not missing anything, You will have to back those up separate, then restore.
    I switch back and forth between the 2 acronis / paragon.
     
  3. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    please clarify.
    that does not make sense.
    see attached. this is my SELECTION when backing up
    I SELECT the first track, MBR, Drive C:,
    the LAST local disk is the recovery partition

    EACH selection increments the bckup size.

    Isn't this backing up EACH of these inside the cumulative backup?

    Indeed, when I select C: and D:, both of them get selected, and are visible in the restore container?

    My concern is why I can't see the presence of FIRST TRACK, or MBR, in the restore container, even though they are able to be selected here?

    any reply appreciated
    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  4. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    ADENDUM, see attached; TOP part are the backup options,

    bottom are the restore options;
    indeed, the MBR and Track 1 do NOT show up !!!!!

    this is NUTS !

    I have submitteed a helpdesk request to clarify this.
    this is in the 2010 suite; I have license for 2011, but am not using it currently due to truecrypt issues, but will check my test machine tonight on this.

    any replies appreciated.

    I should be able to see MBR and Track 1 for recovery, similar to Acronis.

    nick
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    What files are there in the image? How many PBFs? There should be one PBF per each backed up object.
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I never back those up in a complex archive, so can't be certain why that is.

    Perhaps you can't restore only the first track if you have done that.

    Assuming you only want to restore drive C , and/or others - I believe the backed up first track will be restored along with it.


    If you hadn't bothered to back up first track - you would stiil be fine - paragon will write standard disk code and create the partition table entries anyway.
     
  7. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    Thanks for replies.

    if the MBR and First track are in there, I feel they should be listed

    re: files in image - if I expand list, my files are present

    re: PBF, what is a PBF?

    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.