hard disk suite 2010, RECOVERY issue

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by aoz, Mar 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    help.
    tablet pc. Hibernate worked. Installed win7 SP1. it broke hibernate.
    OK, used recovery of a backup of 2/11/2011. Used HDsuite 2010 to backup, and to recover.
    It recovered the c: partition.
    BUT, questions and problems.

    1. I backed up the following
    1. Track 1 2. MBR 3. Drive C

    When I RECOVER, I can ONLY see the ability to recover drive Co_O?

    I used to use Acronis TrueImage.
    IT had ability to recover, separately, hte
    1. track 1 2. MBR 3. Drive C 4. Other drives,, etc

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Nope your not missing anything, You will have to back those up separate, then restore.
    I switch back and forth between the 2 acronis / paragon.
     
  3. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    please clarify.
    that does not make sense.
    see attached. this is my SELECTION when backing up
    I SELECT the first track, MBR, Drive C:,
    the LAST local disk is the recovery partition

    EACH selection increments the bckup size.

    Isn't this backing up EACH of these inside the cumulative backup?

    Indeed, when I select C: and D:, both of them get selected, and are visible in the restore container?

    My concern is why I can't see the presence of FIRST TRACK, or MBR, in the restore container, even though they are able to be selected here?

    any reply appreciated
    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  4. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    ADENDUM, see attached; TOP part are the backup options,

    bottom are the restore options;
    indeed, the MBR and Track 1 do NOT show up !!!!!

    this is NUTS !

    I have submitteed a helpdesk request to clarify this.
    this is in the 2010 suite; I have license for 2011, but am not using it currently due to truecrypt issues, but will check my test machine tonight on this.

    any replies appreciated.

    I should be able to see MBR and Track 1 for recovery, similar to Acronis.

    nick
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    What files are there in the image? How many PBFs? There should be one PBF per each backed up object.
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I never back those up in a complex archive, so can't be certain why that is.

    Perhaps you can't restore only the first track if you have done that.

    Assuming you only want to restore drive C , and/or others - I believe the backed up first track will be restored along with it.


    If you hadn't bothered to back up first track - you would stiil be fine - paragon will write standard disk code and create the partition table entries anyway.
     
  7. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    Thanks for replies.

    if the MBR and First track are in there, I feel they should be listed

    re: files in image - if I expand list, my files are present

    re: PBF, what is a PBF?

    thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.