Hard Disk Crash Help!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pappy55, Aug 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pappy55

    pappy55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    WinXP SP2, etc......

    "NTLDR and HAL.DLL Missing" errors.

    After hours of frustration and trying everything, I'm ready to use my Acronis 8.0 to restore. Can't access the HD. I have the Acronis Rescue Disk. The problem is that the backup image (.tib) is on my 60gb USB external drive and Acronis won't recognize it nor will it even show the .tib image. Is there a way to access this in order for me to restore the image?

    Thanks.:'(
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I'll send you an ISO image of my Acronis Rescue disk 9.0.3633. This version is downward compatible with older versions of ATI. I'll be sending you shortly a PM with the download link.
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Hopefully the proper drivers will be there. External drives and the Linux rescue CD do not coexist well. If this doesn't work for you I recommend BartPe http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/ and one of Mustang's TI plugins for V8.0 at
    http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/Acronis.zip This one is also compatible with V9.0 files.
     
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    You could also just reinstall Windows, which will see your drive, and then restore over everything.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pappy55,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If the issue persists, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Note that since you use an older version of Acronis True Image you should press F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears and not when the selection screen appears (Acronis True Image 8.0 Bootable Rescue CD does not have any selection screen).

    If the issue still persists, please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.