GUID Partition Table Question?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tommygun, Jan 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tommygun

    tommygun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    Hi.

    I get the following message when I try to backup to an external USB hard drive with Acronis True Image Home 11.

    The backup archive file will be created on the volume of GUID partition table (GPT) disk. Please note that you will not be able to restore this backup archive when booting from the rescue media. Are you sure you want to continue with this procedure?

    The external harddisk is not present when booting from the "Acronis Rescue Media" but it is when I use "Norton Ghost Recovery CD".

    Please give me some advise so I can backup with Acronis to this drive because I think Acronis is much better.

    Any feedback is very much appreciatd.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Unfortunately the Home version won't work with a GPT disk. You need one of the Echo versions.

    I can't recall if Workstation will work with GPT disk or if the Enterprise version is needed.

    Colin
     
  3. tommygun

    tommygun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    .......thanks for your reply.

    The funny thing is that I could use this drive before until I formated it.

    Is there a way of reformating to make it work again...?...
     
  4. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    I assume you have a 64bit-OS?
    And you had partitioned and formatted the USB hdd with this OS?

    Hm, I think a 64bit-OS create the GPT always.

    The opportunity is to delete the partitions and create new one with a 32bit-OS.

    EDIT:
    Do you have the latest build of Ti11??
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I can confirm that the home versions of Acronis True Image doesn't support GPT disks. The programs of Acronis True Image Echo line are compatible with GPT disks.

    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.