Greyed out Restricted Sites Zone button with SpyBlaster 3.2???

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by jimmymac_4, Sep 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    After installing SpywareBlaster 3.2, I noticed that my IE6 Restricted Sites Zone button was disabled (greyed out). Does anyone know if SypwareBlaster does this since inculding a restricted sties feature or is this just a coincidence? Does anyone know what could cause this and how I might go about fixing it? Thanks in advance.

    Jim McNamara
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2004
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Jim,

    Are you speaking of the Sites button that's part of the Restricted Sites ?

    Also....SpywareBlaster does not have a feature to disable(grey out) the Restricted Sites button.
     
  3. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Bubba,

    Yes I am speaking of the sites button that is part an parcel of the (Tools > Internet Options > Security) Restricted Sites Zone. The Sites buttobn is greyed out in my IE6 browser. You misunderstood me. I realize that SpywareBlaster does not have a feature to disable (grey out) the Restricted Sites button, but it does have a feature to enable and disable a list of websites for the Restricted Sites Zone. I was curious if in adding that particular feature iif SpyBlaster may have also taken over (disabled) the native mode/funciton, greying out the button in the process.

    Jim McNamara
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    You may have to go into Group Policy to recover that Zone...
     
  5. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi PhantOm,

    OK. I confess to being at a loss here. Could you please provide me with some details? Kindly explain what you mean. Thanks in advance.

    Jim McNamara
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    What ver of Windows u running?
     
  7. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Win98SE.

    Jim McNamara

    P.S. I'm going to give the IE repair function a try.
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Yea forget what i mentioned about Group Policy :p

    Sounds like an idea, using IE Repair feature
     
  9. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Good news. The IE repair worked. The Restricted Sites Zone sites button is no longer greyed out. Time for a beer ... no ... a 50/50 and some Canadian whiskey. Care to join me?

    Jim McNamara
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    As long as you give me 90% of it :p
     
  11. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Thirsty little bugger aren't you?

    Jim McNamara
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    You got that right :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.