Greyed out Restricted Sites Zone button with SpyBlaster 3.2???

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by jimmymac_4, Sep 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    After installing SpywareBlaster 3.2, I noticed that my IE6 Restricted Sites Zone button was disabled (greyed out). Does anyone know if SypwareBlaster does this since inculding a restricted sties feature or is this just a coincidence? Does anyone know what could cause this and how I might go about fixing it? Thanks in advance.

    Jim McNamara
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2004
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Jim,

    Are you speaking of the Sites button that's part of the Restricted Sites ?

    Also....SpywareBlaster does not have a feature to disable(grey out) the Restricted Sites button.
     
  3. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Bubba,

    Yes I am speaking of the sites button that is part an parcel of the (Tools > Internet Options > Security) Restricted Sites Zone. The Sites buttobn is greyed out in my IE6 browser. You misunderstood me. I realize that SpywareBlaster does not have a feature to disable (grey out) the Restricted Sites button, but it does have a feature to enable and disable a list of websites for the Restricted Sites Zone. I was curious if in adding that particular feature iif SpyBlaster may have also taken over (disabled) the native mode/funciton, greying out the button in the process.

    Jim McNamara
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    You may have to go into Group Policy to recover that Zone...
     
  5. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi PhantOm,

    OK. I confess to being at a loss here. Could you please provide me with some details? Kindly explain what you mean. Thanks in advance.

    Jim McNamara
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    What ver of Windows u running?
     
  7. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Win98SE.

    Jim McNamara

    P.S. I'm going to give the IE repair function a try.
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Yea forget what i mentioned about Group Policy :p

    Sounds like an idea, using IE Repair feature
     
  9. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Good news. The IE repair worked. The Restricted Sites Zone sites button is no longer greyed out. Time for a beer ... no ... a 50/50 and some Canadian whiskey. Care to join me?

    Jim McNamara
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    As long as you give me 90% of it :p
     
  11. jimmymac_4

    jimmymac_4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    PhantOm,

    Thirsty little bugger aren't you?

    Jim McNamara
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    You got that right :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.