Great looking car, but won't start!

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by STV0726, Oct 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Prevx, the best anti-malware system on the market in my books, yet it suffers one fatal flaw: It has a 50% chance of correctly starting up upon log in.

    Here's the checklist to show that I've done everything on my end:

    Yes: I've reinstalled.

    Yes: I'm up-to-date.

    Yes: I'm running Prevx on both my Windows 7 and Windows Vista x64 systems, which are both entirely different PCs yet have the exact same issue.

    Yes: The problem also occasionally occurred on my previous Windows XP x32 system.

    Yes: I run Prevx with Microsoft Security Essentials, formerly ESET Smart Security 4. Makes no differences.

    Yes: My system startup is optimized and uncluttered and there's no excuse for Prevx not to start. My system is clean and maintained.

    & Yes: The background Prevx process may still start but the GUI doesn't load, which is responsible for executing scans, therefore, without it, your system is less protected.

    No: I won't accept that "Prevx technicians can't reproduce this error." It happens CONSTANTLY.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2010
  2. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    STV0726, have you been in touch with Prevx support about this, because they're very helpful and efficient? Sending a scan log to Prevx research can enable them make database adjustments, which usually fixes things. I've been
    having a few issues myself recently which sound a bit similar(see bugs thread),
    which I think have now disappeared. I daresay you're following the uninstall/install routine correctly(as regards other security software etc) and running the cleanup app also just to make sure?
    Anyway, probably Triple Helix or PrevxHelp will advise you better, I hope, if necessary. Cheers,
    Dermot.
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Sorry for hijacking the thread, but only to add that there's also a problem when switching users. It won't start. It is needed to reboot the system in order for it to load again.

    These sort of problems should be solved.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I will Quote PrevxHelp to start with!

    And can you give the version numbers of Prevx that you are using!

    TIA,

    TH
     
  5. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    @Dermot7:

    1. Sending them a scan log is something I am aware of and do occasionally, specifically related to problems such as challenging a detection as a false positive. Yes, it is sometimes helpful for other troubleshooting, but they've so far been unable to make any use of the many scan logs and error reports they've received on this (and similar issues.)

    2. Install and uninstall methods? Clean up app? Prevx is incredibly light-weight and non-intrusive to the OS, and therefore a simple uninstall, reboot, and reinstall is sufficient. I'm not really sure what you are referring to here. Uninstalling, rebooting, and reinstalling is the recommended procedure for most things and shouldn't cause issues that we're experiencing.

    3. Keep in mind what I'm about is nothing new. It's just something that gets reported constantly and they answer with "We are unable to reproduce the issue."

    So let's change the focus and pretend there isn't so much of an "issue" but rather a weak spot in Prevx.

    Instead of finding a tiny hole and filling it with a seal, let's instead take another look at how Prevx starts up.

    Here's the problem as I see it. Prevx has it weird to begin with, whether it works or not. When you switch users, the GUI doesn't stay running. Like with most AVs such as Microsoft Security Essentials, when I switch over it's already running because it ran when I logged in. Prevx doesn't, it loads fresh like I logged out. Why is this? To conserve memory usage? I think it might conserve some memory but in the process make the system unreliable.

    What exactly happens if the Prevx GUI doesn't start? Hmm...I don't have a virtual machine handy but I'd love to have someone do a malware loading session and see how Prevx protects you when it fails to load its GUI.

    This has to be fixed, seriously. This issue should be the TOP PRIORITY right now and it isn't. This is Prevx's BIGGEST FLAW. Not the little script kiddies that come on here with "OMG this can bypass Prevx" and then it doesn't and they just lied for attention, no, this is where it's at. This is the problem with Prevx. It fails to start 50% of the time. And then a LOT of infections have the green light.

    Can we please keep this thread going until an update is released that specifically addresses this and WORKS? I'm sick of this topic going old and cold. It's time to fire the cold case unit and put the front line detectives on this case and solve it.

    @Prevxhelp: I said I am up-to-date, so .206, tho this has happened with recent previous versions.

    Why am I to believe another reinstall would work if I installed it fresh on a new OS installation and there's been no significant changes to anything since then? Not to mention same situation for two machines? So then what? Prevx corrupts itself during updates? Shouldn't a SECURITY SOLUTION be robust enough to not need re-installations every update? Remember, design your products for grandmas who are afraid of computers and won't even notice that their AV isn't starting correctly.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2010
  6. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Before we continue on I just wanted to say this:

    I am sorry for this post sounding a bit firm and harsh, I just have grown frustrated of this bug as of late and I really want to push for a solution.

    You all know I love Prevx and it's BY FAR my favorite security solution. Which is why I am so prompt about this. Because I care.
     
  7. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I know the frustration. I love prevx and have had issues with it. What keeps me going is the excellent support that always solves the problems. Quick and effective! ... and of course the small footprint together with excellent protection.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2010
  8. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    OK, was doing some testing, in my own limited-knowledge way, and in case I was fooling myself about anything, but can definitely confirm that the user switching issue has been fixed, for me anyway, but a pity, not for STV0726.
    I'm getting splash screen every time, system tray icon, and processes running
    as they should. I checked so many times, nearly got dizzy:D
    Hope any outstanding issues may be resolved soon for STV0726, and any others too.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I agree with Dermot7 just wait for PrevxHelp to reply he will help you get things sorted!

    TH
     
  10. microbial

    microbial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    UK
    I'm also experiencing the user switching issue :doubt:
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    We have made some fixes in recent builds to improve the startup logic but it appears that some of you are definitely still having problems. If you would be interested in having a remote session to correct the issues, please send me a PM so that we can schedule a time. Unfortunately it is true that we cannot reproduce the problem, but a first-hand diagnosis session should get it fixed very quickly.

    This is by far the fastest way to solve the issue and we've had a 100% success rate so far with remote support sessions :)
     
  12. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    What software do you need in order to do remote sessions?
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We use LogMeIn Rescue which provides a one-time-use remote session (we send the link, you don't have to do anything besides start the applet).
     
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I've been digging through the UI, but I can't see an option to prevent Prevx from starting when booting.

    Is this info within prevx.exe itself?

    I was wondering if creating a scheduled task to start with SYSTEM, would make it load to any user, when switching betwen users.

    For now, the remote sessions have been working out, but can you imagine what would be like a few dozens complaining? What if it increases to the hundreds? You sure see where I'm trying to get.

    I understand your efforts, but those remote sessions are far away from being the definitive solution.

    Prevx won't load when switching between users due how it loads... If you guys change this, then I'm sure it could be solved.
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    There isn't an option to prevent it - the service automatically loads the user process which then loads the GUI, scanner, etc.

    It is possible that a modification can be made like this but we prefer to keep all of the protection and management code internal to the product itself. For instance, we do not use a registry "run" key which most other products use.

    In virtually all cases, Prevx works fine when switching users. However, the couple users here are having problems so we'd need more information from them specifically which we can find from a remote support session. The intent of the session is not to fix it working on that one PC but to make a change to the software in general which corrects it across all users who may be having the problem :)

    (It would probably also be worth mentioning that the remote sessions we have had were not related to user switching or the process not starting - we have yet to have any report where this behavior is reproducible that we have been able to take a closer look at so getting help from anyone here who is having this issue would be very useful :))
     
  16. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    OK. If having a remote session with one user, may help, say, dozens of others with the same issue, then it sure is a great procedure. :)
     
  17. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Is this in fact just a user switching issue? Because what was happening for me also involved Prevx not starting from sleep mode also, and a few times on cold boot-up also. I'm pretty sure I'm ok now, but you're welcome to have a look
    inside this laptop, if that could help in any way Joe.:)
     
  18. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Would it be better if it was worse looking, but did start :D

    Seriously, i hope those with this issue manage to have it sorted very soon :thumb:
     
  19. microbial

    microbial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds good :thumb: I'm pretty busy for the next few days but will PM you towards end of week if that's OK.
     
  20. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Take note, two variations on the issue:

    On my desktop when Prevx fails to start, it can be ran from the start menu and then it will be enabled.

    On my laptop when Prevx fails to start, when it's ran manually, it warns that protection somehow is turned off. So not only do you have to launch it, you have to re-enable protection.
     
  21. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    And for further clarification, some leads to look into for potential incompatibilities even though I see no reason they should conflict is:

    Both machines have TuneUp Utilities 2010 running in the background.

    Both machines have Sandboxie running in the background.

    Both machines have Microsoft Security Essentials running in the background.

    Other than that, there should be no other variables. Other than to mention I have a software restriction policy in place...with...what a second...

    So here's the thing. Setting up a Software Restriction Policy, contrary to belief, actually can cause very LITTLE to NO incompatibilities. HOWEVER, using a Software Restriction Policy with Authenticode policies defined has caused issues. I wonder if this might have something to do with it.

    I have my authenticode settings set to allow all end users to define their own trusted software, because when I set it to admin only, guess what failed to start up? Microsoft's own Security Essentials.
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This could certainly have something to do with it - could you try disabling the policy and see if that allows it to start up properly? If it would still be of assistance, we would certainly be interested in a remote support session if you'd be available :)
     
  23. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    No it did not fix it. It's a separate issue.

    With an authenticode policy, if it is going to restrict something, it's either going to block it or allow it.

    I have debunked this.

    Prevx is uninstalled right now because I grew frustrated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.