Great info

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by weezyrider, Mar 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    Have been reading thru stickies here and have a few extra questions.
    1. I have been reading this site for quite a few years and actually bought NOD32 on the strength of the articles here. Now have the whole family on it,and our local vendor is great.
    2. Put ZAFree on all the computers (mix of OS 2K or XP) feeling that basic firewall is better than none at all. Finally convinced one user that he DID need a firewall.
    3. Reading forum again, would like to try OA. Would need advice about totally uninstalling ZAF. Also if you block a program in OA, can you unblock it later? I have IE locked down and won't use it. I'd love to block it, but the tech that works on my computers might need it for patches. Could he unblock for his use? We don't game, or use P2P for downloading music.
    Thanks,
    Weezy
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    To answer part of your question, about OA. Yes you can unblock a program. I currently have Acrobat Reader block from running, but anytime I want I can either change the program rule, or just delete it and let OA build a new one. Actually OA has a couple of features that do tame IE. First it does a first rate job of blocking active X. Second it has a feature called Run Safer which effectively lowers the rights of programs you designate. I have my email client and all browsers so set.

    I have tested the Run Safer feature against some real malware, and then allowed it to run. System was protected from damage. But even with this set you can do and individual run without it, or easily turn it off and on as needed.

    Pete
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    You would first need to disable the start on boot (option within ZA), then re-boot. Then add to the un-install shortcut "/clean". This I have found to remove all from ZA.
     
  4. InVitroVeritas

    InVitroVeritas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    This tip should be bookmarked for future similar requests. :cool:
     
  5. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    Just where do you add "/clean"?
    My copy of ZAF has it's own uninstaller. Those usually don't have anywhere to add another command. If I have to do it using run, can I have the whole command to uninstall?
    Thanks,
    Weezy
     
  6. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    http://zonealarm.donhoover.net/uninstall.html

    I have not run ZA since version 6.1, so don't know if those instructions
    are still up to date, but they always worked for me. I read somewhere
    that ZA newer versions leave a dll file behind in system 32 after
    uninstall, but I have no info on that.
     
  7. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    The ZA uninstaller wouldn't let me add /clean per instuctions from link.
    I just ran the uninstaller, rebooted and installed OA. Seems to be working.
    The whole thing was rather painless.
    Thanks,
    Weezy
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Go to the start menu, "All programs" and find the uninstaller for ZA (as you mention, it has its own un-installer there) Right click the entry and select "properties". On the command line add " /clean" to the end of that command line.

    As example, (sorry dont have ZA current on installation), I can show you for another item:-

    clean.jpg

    Make sure you leave a gap between the end of the command line and your entry of /clean
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.