GPT and Drive recognition

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by hnlive, Aug 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I have a really big problem :'( .


    In the beggining of the year, i had 2 hard drives.


    Then i bought a Western Digital 1TB hard-disk a while ago and installed it on Windows 8 64bits.

    I put all my data from long time ago in it and used it for about 5 months.

    It was all fine 10 hours ago when I decided to install Windows 7 64bits (in place of Windows Eight). I formated one hard disk entirely (didn't mess anything with the others) and successfully installed Windows 7.

    After the process was done I started Windows 7. The problem is that I noticed that Windows 7 doesn't seem to be able to deal with my WD 1Tb Hard Disk .Windows 7 can see it in Disk Management but doesn't even recognize the Free Space and the Used Space (should be 470gb used).

    http://postimg.org/image/9piha18an/


    I can't even assign a letter to it, the only option I have is to Delete it. I tried many others software and they do the same, they partly recognize the 1TB hard drive, but doesn't seem to able to detect free-space and used space. They also seem not to be able to do anything with it but to able to delete it.The only thing they do is point out it's GPT.

    Here are the Print Screens :
    http://postimg.org/image/3yhjwpsud/
    http://s21.postimg.org/78a0znovr/image.jpg
    http://s10.postimg.org/wad9bhrix/image.jpg

    I'm pretty sure I didn't do anything wrong with this disk in the Windows 7 installation process, and I didn't format it and didn't try to do anything with it.

    The data I have on it is really important and I can't afford to lose it. While all evidence points to the fact that the data is still there, I still have a lot of fear that the data is all gone.

    I don't even know if the Data is still there and it's just a recognition problem, or if my data is all lost, or if i need to boot into this Hard-disk.

    What should I do?

    Thanks a lot
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2013
  2. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Hi, hnlive

    and welcome to wilderssecurity forums.

    Did you install 32 or 64bit of 7?
    Can you post a screenshot of 7s Disk Management utility?

    Open Computer Management by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Security, clicking Administrative Tools, and then double-clicking Computer Management.‌ Administrator permission required If you're prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation. In the left pane, under Storage, click Disk Management.


    Panagiotis
     
  3. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    It seems that windows cannot identify the format of the partition.
    Do you remember which type it was? ntfs, fat32, exfat, etc.?
     
  5. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I really don't know : ( . The only thing i know is that initially ( when i bought the WD 1TB HD ) he was also not recognized then i created some kind of volume from the disk managment tool of Windows 7.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Since you used the disk managment tool of windows, if you used the defaults should be an ntfs formated partition.

    Open the command prompt (cmd.exe) with administrator rights.
    Then run the following commands and press enter after each line:
    diskpart
    list disk
    sel disk 2
    list part


    then without closing the command prompt window post a screen shot here.
     
  7. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks for the answers pandlouk. Here it is :

    http://postimg.org/image/emtvz2zzn/

    Really seems like Windows can't recognize it but it's wierd that it's an unknown type. I never used Linux, Solaris, Mac etc and never pluged the HD into any of those, only in Windows 7.
     
  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Ok.
    Now continue with the following commands and press enter after each line:
    sel part 1
    set id=ebd0a0a2-b9e5-4433-87c0-68b6b72699c7


    and post again a screenshot
     
  9. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
  10. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    And it changed in the disk managment :


    http://postimg.org/image/d37umej03/


    The problem is : I tried to assign a letter and he asked me to format it, i can't format it else i will lose everything.
     
  11. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Ok. Now close the command prompt and reboot your system. Windows should automatically assign a drive letter to that partition. If not post again a new screenshot of windows disk managment utility.

    edit: i just saw your previous post. Do the reboot and post again a new screenshot.

    Panagiotis
     
  12. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I searched a bit in the internet and it seems that there is recovery software to retrieve data from RAW File System.Should i DO that ?

    Btw, i'm running Stellar Phoenix software for 3hours now and he is scanning my 1TB WD HD and seems to be finding things :

    http://s13.postimg.org/s0qo3k0c7/stellar.jpg
     
  13. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I just read your post heh. I think i'm gonna stop in the middle of the Stellar Phoenix software scan in order to restart , right ? Would there be a problem ? I think if i was going to wait it would take 1 day for it to end.
     
  14. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    No do not format. First reboot.
    Then run cmd as admin again perform the following commands (press enter after each line):
    diskpart
    list disk
    sel disk 2
    list part
    sel part 1
    set id=0x07 override



    Now you should be able to access again your partition.

    Panagiotis
     
  15. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Don't tell me that you scanned during those commands? Not a wise thing.
    Stop it reboot and perform the instructions from above.
     
  16. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
  17. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    try using the following:
    set id=07 override
     
  18. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Damn ;(, gave the same error.
     
  19. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Should i try to use AOMEI to convert GPT to MBR ? Would it help ? Should i try to convert RAW to NTFS ?
    My priority is recovering the data ;/
     
  20. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    You should try to change the id of the partition from raw to ntfs (07 is the ntfs id)
    Do not try to convert from gpt to mbr (not yet at least).
     
  21. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
  22. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
  23. hnlive

    hnlive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    The chkdsk didn't work unfortunately. I'm currently trying to recover data with Zero Assumption. Btw, i didn't understand about the set id=ebd0a0a2-b9e5-4433-87c0-68b6b72699c7 . Do you know what it does and why doing that helped me ?
     
  24. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    Probably. I would try this, converting from basic GPT to basic MBR. But I´d use Partition Wizard, which is free and traditionally reliable. And before, I´d create a backup of the disk.
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    It is a GUID (Globally unique identifier) for gpt partitions and tells the OS that is a basic data partition.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc753840.aspx
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766465(v=ws.10).aspx
    But it should have made windows identify the format type and should not have identified it as raw.

    You could also try the partition manager of "BootIt BM" to change the partition type.

    Panagiotis
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.