GPG4win problem need help!

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by WannaLearn, Mar 21, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WannaLearn

WannaLearn Registered Member

I have been using GPG4win for several months now. I have 3 private keys one was a test key when i first started out. The second key is for my one email address the other is for my riseup.net account. To be specific i use GPA clipboard to encrypt and decrypt my messages and it would ask me for all three passwords when i decrypted it was a real pain in the butt. I was curious as to why it was doing that so i asked a friend to check what key he was getting my emails from and it turned out it was not the key i thought i was using. So panic struck me as to what was going on and i deleted all three of my private keys. I generated a new key and set the owner trust but it would not let me sign my key saying the default key was erased. I sent him my key anyways and he responded but it will not let me decrypt. I am lost i usually used enigma mail with thunderbird and i never had a problem but it was linked to a gmail account. After snowdens revelations i changed my online habits and am became interested in computer security and i am stumbling through this stuff on my own trying to learn. Can anybody give me a hand with this? Should i uninstall GPG4win and try this again?

2. Palancar

Palancar Registered Member

You need to verify a default key. Open the GNU privacy assistant and you will see the preferences tab. Click on it and then you will want to verify your new key as DEFAULT. If it is not then make it default. All transmissions will use the default key unless you override it.