google's software_reporter_tool help

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by taleblou, May 14, 2015.

  1. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    I have uninstalled chrome via revo uninstaller pro and got rid of all google left over and junks anything to do with chrome and cleaned the registry. But still voodoo shield detected and blocked software_reporter_tool by google and the location from voodoo log says in the google chrome folder, but that folder does not exist anymore, since I have it deleted.

    So my question is how to get rid of the software_reporter_tool that is somehow remained? I searched the whole pc for it and could not find it. Even used free fixer to see if it is left anywhere and no signs of it.

    So can anyone help me get rid of this unwanted program? Do you know where it is hiding?

    I even unhided all and even protected windows settings and nothing.
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,041
    Did you check this location: C:\Users\[user]\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\SwReporter\3.20.1\software_reporter_tool.exe ?
    I got mine installed in user profile folder.
     
  3. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    yes and it does not exist, as I have deleted it during removing the traces of chrome.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,041
    You said VS detected and blocked it. I don't know how VS is operating but can you verify somehow if this process is really trying to run? I've checked my installation and couldn't find a trigger that is launching this tool so I assume that Chrome is doing it somehow.
     
  5. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    hi:

    well since the last time it was detected. it is no-longer been detected yet(based on voodoo shield logs) and I will wait a few days to see if it does not run anymore. If so then it mean it was a fluke or one time run? I will update after a few days.
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
    I've blocked and blacklisted C:\Users\bjms\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\SwReporter\3.20.1\software_reporter_tool.exe
     
Loading...