Google Virus warning

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by xTiNcTion, Dec 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    Hi,

    every time i look for the "phpbb" keyword using the integrated Google search box in Firefox 1.5 i see a Google virus warning (see screenshot)

    first time it happened me was looking for "phpbb attachment mod". so i try different keyword and now i notice the message appears when i look for 'phpbb' plus any other keyword. o_O

    This no occurs when i go directly to google.com and make the search.

    ...uhmm... have to do a complete virus scan. but i did one some few days a go with: nod32, ewido, a2...SB, adware.... and online scan .... what else? no virus found.

    have you see this message?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    lol,

    Yes after trying the keyword u suggested. No viruses here. ;) :D


    snowbound
     
  3. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wow that's strange :eek:
     
  4. Piratez

    Piratez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    yap, got the warning as well and no viruses here either.

    on further testing, it appears that any keyword(s) containing "php" will generate that warning.
     
  5. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    php works. bb works. phpbb does not.
    You can fix it by not using the built-in google search in your browser.

    Oh nevermind, you already figured that out I see :D
     
  6. Jeremy2

    Jeremy2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    72
    This happenned to me yesterday, for any word searching, but only when I use the Tor software.
    So I use the word search through torified Firefox, I got the virus/spyware warning; Then use the same word search with FF directly connected to internet, I got the search result and no virus/spyware warning.
     
  7. tnsenthil

    tnsenthil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    This happens for the search string "mysql php" thru Internet explorer 6. The first page loads but the subsequent pages throws the virus warnings.


    Senthil
    Saxon Computer Centre - ~removed email addy~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2006
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    either they fixed it, or it doesn't work on win2k and msie 6.02
     
  9. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    I don't get the virus warning no matter what.:'( :D
     
  10. wormvirus

    wormvirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Beijing,China
    I'm a Chinese,not a google user but baidu's.
    :D
    o_O
     
  11. wormvirus

    wormvirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Beijing,China
    BTW:No error when google search "phpbb".

    Happy Chinese New Year of DOG!:p
     
  12. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    There was for me awhile back as i posted, but all better now. :cautious:

    Yes, same to u. Only 4 days away(sunday to be exact) woof, woof. ;) :D


    snowbound
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  13. Dang it

    Dang it Guest

    i got a warning like that when i was suing a proxy, appearly the host was affected.. how the hell does google know.. i swear, google is watching you.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.