Google Toolbar vanished

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by jedi_m, Apr 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I'm exhausted looking for a solution on the Internet and I hope somebody can give me some ideas.
    On this machine: Lenovo T61, Win7 Pro, PrevX 3 with Safe Online (full and paid license) + Avira free, is there any possibility that PrevX 3.0 with Safe Online to kill Google Toolbar? This is happening on this laptop with clean install Windows 7 Pro.
    I am trying to isolate the problem and I am lost. I believe it's a process that kills the toolbar eider from one of the Security Software or from Windows 7, or some IE8 incompatibilities. When I start the laptop the toolbar is there, but after a while just vanished. At this point I checked Manage Add-ons and I see all 4 Google Toolbars and Extension are Enabled, but the checkmark from View-Toolbars-Google Toolbar is gone. When I expand it it shows the checkmarks and the only option is to dissable. After restarting the laptop, Google Toolbar is back.
    What I tried already:
    - uninstall avira, install MSE and run it together with PrevX. After half an hour the Toolbar dissapeared
    - uninstalled MSE and installed back Avira
    - uninstalled Google Toolbar, clean cookies and registry w CCleaner
    - restart in safe mode and run scans with MBAM, Avira and Superantispyware.
    - start normal, run scan with PrevX
    - install again the latest Google Toolbar (done uninstall - install 3-4 times)
    It was OK for 1 hour and it vanished again.
    All I have from searching the internet is guides to Enable-Disable the add-ons, make sure the GoogleToolbar is ckecked, or how to install the latest version. I'm going nuts?!?!?
    Can somebody bring some light? Thanks
    jedi_m
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
  2. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi jedi_m,

    FWIW I have the Airmiles Toolbar with Yahoo as it's search engine on both IE8 & FF 3.6.3 and I have no problems with them and my security! :doubt: My main System Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit

    TH
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    Be glad, toolbars are mostly evil, including google's toolbar :p
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't understand the war against Google Toolbar... especially since people have no problem at all with using Google Chrome. :cautious:
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Don't misunderstand me, some toolbars are indeed evil... but for some time now I've noticed that many people are fully recommending Google Chrome, but at the same time those same people say nothing but bad words about Google Toolbar...

    Well if Google Toolbar is evil, then in my book Google Chrome must be even more evil. :shifty:

    See the irony?
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I don't feel that Google Toolbar is evil if you want it then go get it but lots of security people think that to many are added in installers of other programs which is unnecessary IMO! Everyone is in control of there systems and they can have what they want on them but just a suggestion most people download free programs and don't watch what they are doing when installing and they wonder why they have something that they did not want an add-on!

    TH
     
  9. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That I wholeheartedly agree on! :)
     
  10. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I see here that toolbars are eider evil or loved, I understand and some are more evil than others. I could try Yahoo, or Airmiles Toolbar as per Triple Helix recommendation (thanks TH), but I really want to find the root cause of my issue. I have this Google Toolbar at work and it's working. Also I have it on 3 other computers at home (these are all Win XP SP3 and IE:cool: and I don't have issues. On main PC (see signature), I didn't have any issue, so I'm trying to sort it out: it'sPrevX, it's Avira, IE8, Win7, or Google.
    I did run check disc, I run sfc / scannow, all the messages are OK, no issue with the system. I don't know what to doo_O
     
  11. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands

    Did you look at this thread? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=263693

    I describe the same problem there..
     
  12. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Yes denniz, thank you, I saw the link and I read it the first time you posted and I saw that it was an issue with Safe Online and was fixed back in February. Could be simillar issue, different or not even related to PrevX, I don't know and that bothers me. I will be supper happy to hear from PrevX or from anybody else that the issue is under investigation and working on a fix. At least I foud out from all the replies (thank you all) that I'm not the only one with this problem.

    jedi_m
     
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    According to me Google Chrome is indeed even more evil :p
    I'm not the person bashing Google Toolbar while using another Google product/service, I try not to use Google at all and block it alltogether.
    Google being evil is just my opinion, don't take it to seriously ;)
    Also my comment wasn't meant entirely serious, though I do think Google toolbar is not among the better toolbars, read this if you're interested:
    http://www.benedelman.org/news/012610-1.html
     
  14. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Cool article. If this is true, thats scary. Now what? It looks like the next step to do is to just uninstall it.o_O
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :D Irrespective of the evilness of the toolbar (I personally have a policy to not use any toolbars because of their inherent desire to do unscrupulous things :)) could you try sending a scan log to report@prevxresearch.com by clicking Tools - Save Scan Results?

    This should let us find your exact toolbar version and hopefully allow it access within the browser.

    Thanks! :)
     
  16. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks for support, I just sent the scan log.
    jedi_m
     
  17. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    My last two days trying with PrevX Support to solve the problem:
    1.
    - Same issue
    2.
    - No change, same issue
    3. I decided to uninstall PrevX completelly from the laptop and monitor it for 2 days
    - 4 hours latter, everything OK so far. I'll post updates tommorrow.

    Have a nice weekend,
    jedi_m
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've (begrudgingly :)) installed the Google Toolbar across three PCs here in hopes of reproducing the problem. So far no luck, but if it does reoccur when you re-install Prevx, it would be helpful to have a remote support diagnosis session to try to find the source of the problem.

    Let me know if/when you'll be available and we can schedule a time :)

    Thanks!
     
  19. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I'll be happy to do that. What time is good for you? I am in Toronto Canada (EDT). Early morning 5-6 am EDT would be the best time for me, or after 6 pm EDT.
    I like PrevX, I have an other license on a PC with Win XP and I don't have this issue. It happen just on Windows 7 and I would like to have it fixed and back. Now it's the second day since it was removed from my laptop and I didn't have any single problem with Google Toolbar.
    - UPDATES: 1. Installed back PrevX and turned off Safe Online and everithing work OK for hours
    2. Turned ON Safe Online and the issue is back. Maybe it helps, but as a pattern (or maybe 80% of the time) I saw it happened after I sign up on my email account and open an other Internet Explorer Window. As soon as I click "New Tab" in the new window, the Google Toolbar is gone (works like is "Safe Browsing Mode")


    Thanks,
    jedi_m
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  20. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks a lot Joe :)
    Yes, after a remote session with Joe/PrevxHelp last night, he fix the problem.
    It is done.
    ...now after all this nightmare and reading on this post about the "evil" Google, maybe I will remove Google Toolbar from my system. :D ...just kidding
    I un-checked from Toolbar Options all privacy related "google wishes" and I'll keep it for now.
    jedi_m
     
  21. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well I still have the problem on both my pc's....

    It would be nice to know what Prevx did to solve the problem so I can fix it myself.
     
  22. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I wish I can tell you, but I got lost in what he did . At the end he told me that he did some edits on the compatibility between Google Toolbar and PrevX.
    Better send him a PM and find out directly from him.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
  25. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cool, gonna try that build then :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.