Google Earth in Ubuntu

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Ocky, Dec 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    The file available for download from GE is a bin file - they give the following
    install instructions:-
    2.)Open a terminal window/console and navigate to your default downloads directory. Enter the following command in the directory: > sh GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    3.)Follow the prompts to complete the installation. The default location for the program is '/usr/local/google/google-earth'. If Google Earth was installed in its default location, you can launch it using the following command: > /usr/local/google/google-earth/googleearth

    This doesn't work, filetype not known, command not known, no permission etc. Are their install instructions incorrect ? Or what should I be doing instead ?


    (It is easy to install from medibuntu - but for some reason file size is 60+ MB
    as opposed to 19+ MB for the bin file from GE.) http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2008/06/24/install-google-earth-on-ubuntu-804/

    Edit: even when changing the permissions to read write and execute, still get 'can't open file..'
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    The bin file was saved to my desktop and I had done as per your
    instruction, but get the can't open line.

    xxxxx@xxxxx-desktop:~$ sudo sh GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    sh: Can't open GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    xxxxx@xxxxx-desktop:~$

    My mistake.

    xxxx@xxxx-desktop:~/Desktop$ chmod +x GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    xxxx@xxxx-desktop:~/Desktop$ sudo ./GoogleEarthLinux.bin
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing Google Earth for GNU/Linux 4.3.7284.3916..............................................................
    loki_setup: Suspect size value for option option

    loki_setup: Suspect size value for option option

    loki_setup: Suspect size value for option option

    Installing mimetypes...
    Installing desktop menu entries...
    Installing desktop icon...

    :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Just so ya know, i had display problems when i installed the version 4.3 from the google earth site. Text wouldn't display properly and performance was pretty bad. I've read of others having the same issue so you might run into that issue as well. I now run the older version 4.2 from the medibuntu repos and it works far better.
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I made one mistake. I clicked on Start to start GE after install. This put the config files in .config while running GE as root. I should have pressed Quit.

    It's all explained nicely here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GoogleEarth
    with an uninstall command which works very well.
    I will try 4.2 from medibuntu. Did you have probs. re. GE and Compiz ?

    Regards.
     
  6. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Best way is to enable medibuntu repos and install from Synaptic.
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeh i gotta turn compiz off in order for GE to display properly. With compiz on the graphics and fonts are glitchy.
     
  8. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Yeah, I had the same problem with 4.3 whether using compiz or metacity. 4.2 works well for me.
     
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Wrong of course. The 60+MB is the disc space required not the size of the
    file(s).

    I am now using the 4.2 version from Medibuntu and all's OK - this even
    with Compiz running at the same time. ( I have an older nVidia 6600LE card).

    Edit:- OK there are some minor issues eg. clicking on the places squares in a map causes flashing of the box
    for a few seconds. I haven't tried overlay maps yet. I did turn off 'Atmosphere' in the View menu.
    For 'normal' usage I see no problem - it's quite adequate. I'm not sure whether I should install the
    'Fusion-Icon' to toggle compiz on/off as I am afraid of losing my emerald decorations when switching
    back and forth between metacity and compiz.

    Merry Xmas to all. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.