Google Drive Antivirus?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Esse, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    383
    Google Drive seems to use some kind of malware scanning when you down/upload files.
    Today I saw this:
    "Google Drive can't scan this file for viruses.

    lsrshsetup.exe (27M) exceeds the maximum size that Google can scan. Would you still like to download this file?"

    Does anyone know what engine they use or if it is in-house?

    /E
    PS! Feel free to move the thread if I posted it in the wrong place.
     
  2. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,257
    AFAIK, they don't publish what engine they use.
    I have heard of a rumor that it is Sophos, but no evidence.
     
  3. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    383
    It would be good to know if I want to use another brand on the endpoints for higher coverage.

    Thx anyway Yuki.

    /E
     
  4. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    google own virustotal so maybe that plays a part
     
  5. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    I don't think it's virustotal solely based on the maximum file limit.
     
  6. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    dismissing the possibility by use of file size is not wise as the limit for the web version of virustotal is 128mb and the windows client is 20mb. this confirms googles choice in varying the limit based on need. also, what would be the point in google buying virustotal if they were not going to use the hash data to increase the effectiveness of their antimalware solutions
     
  7. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    I may be wrong it was just a guess. Btw I think google is using/will use vtotal for chrome.
     
Loading...