Google Chrome - 'new tab' question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Birdman, Jul 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Google Chrome 2.0.172.33

    Whenever I open up a new tab in Chrome, it displays 9 mini windows of the "most visited" sites in the middle and links to the "recently closed" sites on the right hand side.

    Is there a way to permanently DISABLE this feature so when you open a new tab/page.....it does not show your history of visited sites?

    I have checked the options section but could not find anything.

    Thanks.
     
  2. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, don't care much for that either. Here's a link to the instructions:

    http://www.google.com/support/chrome/bin/answer.py?answer=95314

    Basically, you just don't want to have "Use the New Tab page" checked under "Home page" (go to Options>>Basics to change that).

    EDIT: Sorry.....missed the new tab thing. Once you have the correct settings in Options, you can choose to hide the thumbnails and recommendations using the icons near the top of the screen. The browser should remember the settings from that point on.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2009
  3. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    I did not see where this could be done. o_O
     
  4. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Just to make sure, you don't see the following icons near the top of the window when you open a new tab?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Nope. I don't see any of the icons when I open up a new tab. It might not be available in the build I'm using.

    What version of Chrome are you using?
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It has the options in this build
     

    Attached Files:

  7. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, somehow I got the (obviously mistaken) impression that they took care of this issue in the latest released version. God knows they had enough complaints about the inability to configure new tabs.

    Anyway, below is a link to an extension in case you care to go that route. It certainly appears as if it will do precisely what you want the browser to do (open new tabs without 'speed dial', preferably blank pages).

    http://code.google.com/p/customnewtab/


    EDIT: Sorry, but the above is for v3.0.189 and higher. For older Chrome versions (2.0 - 3.0.187) see the following:

    http://www.chromeplugins.org/chrome/customize-your-new-tab-page/
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.