Google Chrome 16.0.912.63 Stable Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by prius04, Dec 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    This update went fine on one machine but is corrupted on the other, with the Aw,Snap! page showing, no matter what I do.
    Googling this error reveals lots of frustrations with this over the various versions.
    Uninstall/reinstall, deleting user profile, whatever... nothing works.
    Can't open any wrench tools/options... it's all Aw, Snap!
    And the "try these suggestions" link isn't working.
    I have no idea how to get Chrome back on this machine functioning properly.
    IE8 is working fine.
    A mystery for sure.
    Chrome Aw Snap.jpg
     
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Page42, try deleting your User_Data folder.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    HM, I have uninstalled everything Chrome, every folder and file.
    No success on reinstall I get the same Aw, Snap!
    Unless you mean, while Chrome is installed, delete the User_Data folder, then reopen Chrome?
    :(

    Edit in: Nah, it doesn't work.
    This is bad.
    Maybe I can try installing v15.0.874.121 (last known good version for me) and then try the update process again.
    Where can I get a good copy of that version?
    Anybody know?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Any extensions/ about:flags? I assume not since it's a clean install.

    Not sure! Maybe some other incompatibility.
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    As noted, I can't open any wrench tools/options... it's all Aw, Snap!
    I've downloaded last stable version from oldapps.com and am gonna try that route... if it installs okay, try upgrading again.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Alright, good luck.
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No luck with that.
    Pretty discouraging.
    I'll walk away from it, and maybe something will come to me.
    Chrome has been very good to use for a long time, but this has been a major drag.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  9. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  10. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Thanks for the update! :thumb:
     
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Are you by any chance running Chrome inside Sandboxie? What you describe has been happening with Chromium, COMODO Dragon and Chrome inside Sandboxie. In my system, anyway.
     
  12. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Please mention the versions of the browsers and that of Sandboxie, if you don't mind.
     
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Chromium's is 18.0.965.0 (Developer Build 113517 Windows).

    Google Chrome was the previous stable version, which I'm not running and no longer got it in my system. I downloaded a couple days ago only to see if I could install extensions, because I couldn't in Chromium.

    Dragon's is the latest one available at COMODO's website, which I downloaded moments ago. I don't have the installer anymore. I just wanted to see if I could get the COMODO Site Inspector extension. :D I couldn't, though. :ouch: But, if I recall is version 16.1.1.0 (that was the version number on the dragon.exe executable. I couldn't access anything inside Sandboxie.

    Sandboxie is the latest stable version. More than that I'm not able to tell you, as I got no intentions to troubleshoot it. :D
     
  14. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  15. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Upon your suggestion, I did, and it installed but didn't appear to be working, so I uninstalled. Thanks for the suggestion.
    Yes, running Chrome inside SBIE, but not when updating the browser version.
    I disable forced programs and open Chrome unsandboxed when I want to update.
    Has worked well for me up until yesterday.
    If SBIE is somehow the culprit here, I'd be interested in knowing more, certainly.

    FWIW, to resolve this ugly issue, I restored my most recent Acronis image and tried updating Chrome again. This time, all went well.

    I realize that it could have been any one of a hundred different things that caused this compatibility/corruption issue. We hear a lot about increasing attack vectors... well, the more programs we have loaded, the more we increase our "corruption vectors", and believe me, when they swoop down upon you, program corruptions have the potential to be as disruptive as an infection. This Chrome Aw, Snap! page was quite discouraging, and impossible to get around... at least from every angle I tried... until I went for restoring a back up.
     
  16. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    FWIW, a relative of mine complained about that same error. Doesn't have Sandboxie.

    So, regardless Sandboxie also making it display the same error (Chromium build that I mentioned, COMODO and the previous G.Chrome version - in my system, anyway), there's also a problem with Chrome.

    -edit-

    My relative is running Windows 7 SP1 x86 and MSE.
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I decided to download and install the newest release version, and it runs fine. I didn't get no Aw, snap error.

    I'd say what screwed up in your case and in my relative's case was the built-in update or an install over the top? :doubt:
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Just another case for the importance of back ups.
    The Chrome update that went bad on me ultimately seemed to be doing more than browser corruption.
    Too many details to go into now, but lots of instability was taking place, and other programs were affected.
    Restoring a previous image, then updating Chrome again, in exactly the same manner in which I'd updated it before, went smooth as can be.
    Who knows?
    Not me.
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Too busy coding to remember updating on school computer. Will do so tomorrow.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.