Google Analytics opt-out browser add-on

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by CloneRanger, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  2. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why on earth would you use IE? :D
     
  4. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I've always used it. It has to be properly configured for security though.
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ itman

    Yes it's only IE that requires 3rd party cookies, for some reason !

    Nice to know MS has an add-on for IE

    @ Rasheed187

    I used IE6 very safely for years when lots of people were getting infected via it. As long as it was Fully configured properly it was fine. The only reason i moved to FF, was for the Large selection of add-ons to choose from.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think we have all used IE at some point, but there are other browsers that are way better feature and security wise. So why would you risk getting hit, it's still one of the biggest targets. But to each his own.
     
  7. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Browser security is relative. Chrome for example which has been traditionally noted as the "most secure" browser has since its inception been ranked as the browser with the most vulnerabilities.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Krusty, I use the same one as itman.

    I use the same "Stop Google Tracking" as you, itman, on IE11 , WIN 7 .

    It was mentioned several times in the past by siljaline (he was the one who gave me the advice about it), for example here, reply # 8 .
    But his link there in that post nowadays doesn't seem to get me now there.
    But if you look at https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/iegallery there is that "Stop Google Tracking". It seems to point to https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/ie/2012/02/20/google-bypassing-user-privacy-settings/

    IE_Google_2016-06-20_01.gif
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,101
    ..... which is not updated for years =

     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    I know, anon. Alas, it isn't. But it is very good to point that out once again; thanks for that!!
     
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As far as I can determine, the Google "Do Not Track" tracking protection add-on still works:

    Google_Do_Not_Track.png

    -EDIT- Just realized Smart Screen filter is blocking Google Analytics due to its exceeding the threshold access attempts which I set to the minimum of 3.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I block all third party cookies. I believe this add-on only applies to third party cookies:

    Stop Google Tracking

    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2012/02/20/google-bypassing-user-privacy-settings.aspx

    As described in this blog post, Google is currently circumventing the privacy preferences of Internet Explorer users. By default, IE blocks third-party cookies unless the site presents a P3P Compact Policy Statement indicating how the site will use the cookie and that the site’s use does not include tracking the user. Google’s P3P policy causes Internet Explorer to accept Google’s cookies even though the policy does not state Google’s intent.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  15. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Here I thought I was going insane, same issue with ABP on Chrome.

    I reported this thread earlier when it wouldn't let me post but the mods didn't seem to care to contact me.

    EDIT:
    It seems I can edit the post with ABP on OK though. It appears to be a false positive:
    Blocked by the following filter in the EasyPrivacy list:
    I always thought it was moronic to place headers in URLs instead of plain ids especially on forums, yet another point to prove that it is. This one seems to have both the thread title and the id in the URL, because as well all know, the longer the link the better! /s
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I use the EasyPrivacy list in IE 11 and have no problems with this thread
     
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
    I block third party cookies in all browsers too.
    I could post here with IE 11 as well, but not Cyberfox or Chrome unless I disable AdBlock plus.
     
  19. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I believe the way the "Easy" lists work in IE is that they interface with SmartScreen filter. For example, I have seen entries blocked on the first attempt. Whereas, SmartScreen filter by itself will only block after the specified threshold number of attempts have been exceeded.

    Also SmartScreen filter will only block the offending item e.g. analytics.js versus blocking the entire web page from access.
     
  20. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    You cannot compare TPLs to ABP, they don't have the full blocking functionality. They are a hackjob which is probably why they aren't in Edge.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
    I also have AdBlock Plus installed in IE11 but could still post in this thread.
     
  22. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    That is a similar hackjob, IE does not support extensions in any way. You cannot compare it to the breadth of the extension API offered by Chrome and Firefox.

    You will need to double check that you actually have the EasyPrivacy list installed. If you do, then that is evidence enough that it doesn't have full functionality, you can see the entry in EasyList right here:
    https://hg.adblockplus.org/easylist/file/tip/easyprivacy/easyprivacy_general.txt#l1080

    That entry is not restricted to third parties, and this forum post coincidentally aligns exactly with the name. Hence, it is blocked by EasyList.

    It is unlikely to get removed from EasyList, and unfortunately, the forum admins don't seem to care much either to add any comments to this thread. I have no experience with XenForo whatsoever, but if it has the ability to disable the moronic thread titles in the URL, that should be done.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
    In IE ABP I do not have EasyPrivacy, only EasyList. I have no idea how to add new filters to ABP in IE but it blocks ads, and for how little I use IE11, I'm happy with that. I only posted in this thread with IE11 in the first place because I couldn't with Cyberfox.

    Thanks.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,907
    Location:
    Australia
  25. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    That is why you can post then, as you are not using EasyPrivacy.

    I had not read that thread.
     
Loading...