Good deals {plus I have a Bit Defender Question}

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bellgamin, Dec 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

First, my Bit Defender question --
    Is anyone running BitDefender on an older, less powerful computer? If so, does it slow things down very much? How heavy is the footprint? Do you like it, and why? And so forth?

Second, my *Good Deal* Link --
    There are LOTS of coupon discount offers on major software at Dozleng. Examples include Giant Antispyware, The Cleaner, Bit Defender, Panda, Kaspersky, many others. Discounts run 10%, 15%, & sometimes 20%. For example, the discount on Giant AS is 20%!

Dozleng is a reseller. You must order through them to get the discounts. Most of the discounts expire this month. I have NO experience with using them so... caveat emptor. o_O

2. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Well BitDefender was never considered as light AV. Its detection capabilities are very high,but memory and CPU footprint is just too heavy.

3. BlueZannetti

BlueZannetti Registered Member

I did use them for my purchase of a number of Giant licenses. They seem to be fine. No problems with either service or speed.

Blue

4. Mele20

Mele20 Former Poster

I'm using Bit Defender free and I like it. I suppose it is the Real Time Monitor that is so resource hogging? Because the free version without the Real Time Monitor is about like NOD32 in resource usage.

5. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

I recently tried BD 8 Standard Edition and as a primary scanner it took about 30MB VM, and had no effect on the performance of my Pentium IV Box. I was very impressed with this AV in general. However, it did slow down my Pentium II computer considerably.
    As with Blue, I purchased Giant through the discount offer at Dozleng, via RegNow. My registration key and order confirmation were processed in minutes. So they appear to be reliable.