going to test both F_prot & the good doctor tonight

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by larryb52, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I'm going to test both F_prot & the good doctor tonight, if the Inspector is still around is v6 going to be OK on vista ?
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Re: Dr Web and AV Comparatives

    the only issue I had last week was trying to set up a scheduled scan. Of course with Dr Web you have to use task scheduler. Larry, you really sure you want to start screwing around with your computers.:rolleyes:
     
  3. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    Re: Dr Web and AV Comparatives


    my machine has always been fine , it's my daughter who get's her & my wife's machines screwed up. No one but me is allowed to screw up mine ;-) ....so far so good...I wish I could get back to XP is was easier IMO...
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Re: Dr Web and AV Comparatives

    Not with fresh, virgin images handy ;)
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Although it appears stable, care is needed as with any beta.

    The next version should be a release or gold version for Vista 32 bit.
     
  6. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    good luck, im sure you will be very surprised with both.

    a thread that might interest you Larry.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197854
     
  7. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Re: Dr Web and AV Comparatives

    Hi trjam,
    Dr Web has it's own scan scheduler.
    Badcompany.
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Re: Dr Web and AV Comparatives

    for vista, it uses the scheduler built into vista.
     
  9. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I fail to see how this test you will perform will answer the questions raised in the thread that led you to perform it. What makes you more qualified to perform such a test? What samples will you use? How do you know they are functional samples of actual live malware and are not corrupt? If the people posting in that thread question Andreas' ability to perform such a test, how are you qualified to perform one? I am not insulting your abilities or knowledge, I just wonder what it will prove.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  10. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    F-PROT is still pretty light, even in its current iteration.

    I put it on a PII 266 Mhz laptop with 96 MB of RAM this weekend, and it works great. :D
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    What Windows is installed on this machine ? How can you even stand any AV on this ... ?
     
  12. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    W2K sp4!

    Yes, it's a bit snappier without an AV, but tolerable even with F-PROT! :cool:
     
  13. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    When I tested the program it used about that much RAM in processes.
     
  14. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Under the above setup--on that specific machine--F-PROT is pulling about 33MB in VM!

    Minimum recommended RAM for F-PROT is 20 MB. Well within this PC's specs!
     
  15. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , that's acceptable :D

    sorry for the off-topic
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    hey Larry, have you falling asleep yet.:cautious: ;)
     
  17. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Virtual memory (page file) I would suppose. Besides, Jim is a full-on compyuter expert.

    *96MB? Seems a bit excessive to me. :blink:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.