Gnome 3 Flashback question

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by fblais, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Good morning.
    Installed Debian 8.2 with Gnome DE, and then installed the Flashback package.
    So far I like it.
    I see the minimize/maximize controls have disappeared with Gnome 3.
    No big deal with maximize since you just need to double-click on the menu bar to toggle it.
    However, with minimize, which I use very often, I only found the Super-H hotkey.
    Anything else for minimize?

    Thanks in advance!
    François
     
  2. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    If you don't already know, there are something called gnome3 extensions. These are necessary to make an otherwise unusable DE usable.
    https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/426/window-buttons/
     
  3. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Didn't know, thanks.
    Found some things this morning that I'll try before trying a (beta) extension.

    Here's what I found (condensed):
     
  4. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    By the way, I have another question:
    Debian also offers a few sessions, including Gnome Flashback (or Fallback, I'm not sure) for Wayland.
    I must admit my ignorance about Wayland.
    Thanks in advance for the explanations! :)

    Best regards,
    François
     
  5. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    This is what worked for me:
    I had to navigate to org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences >> button-layout to get it to work w/ dconf-editor.
     
  6. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    It's "Gnome for Wayland", by the way.
    Tried it, but it seemed even more slow than regular Gnome.
     
  7. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Honestly I gave up on GNOME after the release of GNOME3. I can't stand the buttons, windows, scheme of things, I literaly hate it all.

    Is minimize not working for Flashback? I remember it used to work for me, several decades ago.

    These days I only use KDE 5 and MATE. MATE gives me that glorious GNOME2 experience :-*

    I really miss KDE 3, though. I'd pay 1000$ if someone made it fully compatible with Arch and Debian.
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    What is KDE 5 like as compared to 4? I've been pretty out of touch with KDE for years now...
     
  9. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    It's more "squarish", kinda like Windows 8 and 10. I like that :D KDE 4 is round, grey, and none of it's themes please me.
    It's also a bit buggy depending on the distro. openSUSE KDE 5 is the most buggy, while Arch (what I'm using) and Debian Testing/Sid are more stable.

    Here's a screenshot of my KDE 5: https://i.imgur.com/PqoBG93.png
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    Ok, great. Thanks. Looks interesting. I guess I should try it soon and have a look. I liked the old KDE 3, but didn't like 4 so much, so I stuck with Cinnamon and MATE for the past few years. Haven't touched openSUSE for a while either, it was a bit buggy for my tastes back then too. I'm pretty much sold on Debian now..

    Anyway, thanks... :)
     
  11. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yeah, KDE 5 on openSUSE will make your CPU usage to stay higher and thus causing performance loss on games and even Firefox. I haven't tested Tumbleweed but I think the problem is fixed there.
     
  12. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    +1 for kde 5 and Mate.
    Kde 4/5 >> Gnome 3
    Mate >= Xfce

    Actually Gnome 3 looks good to the eyes, but usability-wise not so good.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  13. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    One of the things I did with Gnome was to install this extension and configure the dash to show as a side panel.

    Workspace 1_002.png
     
  14. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    You don't need extensions for adding window buttons, it's an option in the tweak tool (the tool is pre-installed in Ubuntu Gnome, don't know about Debian).



    gnome-tweak-tool_004.png
     
  15. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    Yes, that's possible with the gnome tweak tool and it should be in the Debian repo. Actually last time I used Gnome 3 was in 2012, so I don't remember much.
     
  16. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    @Joxx That looks beautiful! Congrats. Thank you for the tips too.
     
  17. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Gnome 3 can be quite irritating but with some patience you can tweak it to a bit of normality without loosing its underlying philosophy.


    oh... and it can look gorgeous as well :)
     
Loading...