GlassWire

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Not even close.

    I'm not sure what relevance you associate with sorting by usage, but here is how GW free stacks up on my 2nd gen i5 laptop having 4MB RAM running Windows 7 x64 running 92 processes. Total memory usage is ~2.4GB. I assure you the GW metrics for my other 7 and 10 systems are nearly identical.

    GWmem.jpg

    Your memory usage is extreme compared to mine. Given the general unpopularity of GW by the rank and file members here and blunt disapproval by some, I think your troubleshooting efforts should be redirected to the GW forum. There are just not enough users here to present advice much beyond best guesses.

    Your focus on the private working set is insufficient in gathering data toward your resolution. You should enable some other columns, the two shown in my screenie and Commit Size.

    Good luck.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wow, it sounds like a major resource hog, that's a big turn off for me.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I don't see any memory issues here.
     
  4. singularity

    singularity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    India
    Thank you.. and I guess you havent noticed my sig. I got 32 gigs. I dont care much about RAM either.. but worry a little when system utilities like this take too much resources..

    How does the licensing system works?
    There was quite a dispute from users regarding lifetime license at ButsDuJour
    http://www.bitsdujour.com/software/glasswire-firewall-software
    Does lifetime license means literally "lifetime" with upgrades free or use a particular major version for lifetime?

    Where does GW lack behind WFC?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  5. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    I'm not sure how the license will work - the wording is ambiguous, but as with everything, they could rename the product or discontinue it and then your lifetime license would be null and void. Generally when I spend money on something like this (small company, etc.) it's just to support the continued development of the product while I realize I may well not be using it anymore a few year later.

    In terms of controlling the firewall, I prefer WFC because it integrates with Windows explorer, so that you can right click on exe-files to block or allow them whereas with Glasswire you have to see the process in the active processes list and then you can choose to block it. I also like WFC's 4 different modes; block everything, allow everything, or allow only greenlighted processes, or allow everything except blocked processes. And the notifications work great with the paid version (it blocks new processes unless you allow, but notifies you so you can allow or block permanently or temporarily) - with Glasswire your mileage may vary on this issue according to what I've read (although I don't use that feature since I use WFC for that). I'm basically using Glasswire as a passive tool, it gives me extra information about what's going on so that I can, for example, block a process if I feel it's using the internet too much or contacting sites I find suspicious.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2015
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Does anyone else is having problems with the alert mode? where you are suppose to get poups to accept every time a new app try to access to internet? Because I don't see them
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is anyone still using GlassWire, and has it been improved in the last months?

    Did you buy the app? Because AFAIK it's a paid feature.
     
  8. haakon

    haakon Guest

    No popup in the free version. A tray notification and a little red indicator in the icon, the latter persistent until you hit "Mark as read" under the UI Alert tab. You'd then have to go to Firewall tab and find the app and block it if that's your strategy for it, the allow rule is default. All that and the incredibly superb monitoring/logging for free. The nerve. :D

    The paid version offers the popup presenting allow or block selection.

    If you have Firewall Off in Glasswire or you're not running Windows Firewall (because GW is not a firewall), all of the above is irrelevant.

    I've been running GW Free for several months with no issues.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2015
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,586
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Quick question if I may?

    GlassWire is Outbound only...correct?

    Also, if GlassWire notifies of a program making an outbound connection when it first tries to and one allows it then if that program subsequently changes, i.e., new version is installed does GlassWire renotify you when the new version attempts it's first connection?

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    2015-12-14_16-28-17.jpg
     
  11. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,472
    aside from the pop-up messages the first time a new process starts, which puts it in the user's hands for better or worse, does glasswire give you an extra layer of protection?
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It sure does have a look here: https://www.glasswire.com/features/
     
  13. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Some of those features are in the paid version.

    If one is using Windows Firewall, a user intervention to block an executable upon a First Network Access alert is reactive and the only "protection" offered. The paid version will present an allow/block popup. In the free version, to block the user must pay attention and find and select the exe under the Firewall tab.

    For any Internet Security Suite which disables Windows Firewall in favor of its own stand-alone firewall, GW's First Network Access alert is that and only that. The ability to block or allow depends on the behavior and configuration of the IS suite. (i.e. In BDIS-2016 in Paranoid mode, I get GW's first access alert tray notification and BD's popup. With BD's AutoPilot, there's GW's alert only and one would then have to examine BD's Events.)

    All the other GW features offer no "protection" other than that of an impressive and powerful blend of monitoring and logging tools. There is really nothing else like GlassWire. And for free.

    Under the Settings Security tab, everything is monitor, detection and activity related.

    Their home page says it all, up there on top in a really big font: "reveals threats your antivirus missed"

    I've been using GW for over a year on three systems with and without Windows Firewall. Considering that experience and the wording on that Features page, there is nothing pro-active given by GW itself. I stand to be corrected but I believe I got that right.

    My only gripe with the app is its choice of fru-fru skin colors.
     
  14. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,472
    thanks.
    the alerts can be pretty helpful. I found out that a metro app that I had already forgotten about was connecting to the internet. Not that it was actually doing anything bad, but still, who needs endless apps connecting to the internet all the time?
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Does Glasswire do something similar to this?

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...-client-end-tls-interception-software.382679/
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,396
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  17. haakon

    haakon Guest

    ya it do...

    GW.jpg

    and pop3 imap smtp ssl and tls
     
  18. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,396
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    What I meant is if it decrypts SSL traffic. That can be verified by checking same on any HTTPS browser page. In IE, just click on the lock icon and check what the root cert. is. If Glasswire is decrypting SSL traffic, it needs to do so using its own root cert..
     
  19. haakon

    haakon Guest

    If that's what you meant, you should have said so.

    If. If. Wow. That's some top dog masterly know-how! :rolleyes:

    GW doesn't decrypt HTTPS. The cert is issued by Verisign, (counter)signed by Symantec and is used during GW's driver install and removed from the Trusted Publisher store when GW is un-installed.

    This is an outstanding network tool and folks who drop in here to find out more about it don't benefit from ordure shooting.

    Well, time to party... Won't be back until next year!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 1, 2016
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why is this an issue, can you explain?
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,396
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  23. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,396
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    "No pain, no gain." ;)
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,406
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have finally checked out GlassWire, and I was not impressed at all. It doesn't even block connections itself, it uses the Win Firewall. I didn't test the HIPS options, but they were nothing special. For some reason it also triggered high CPU usage. So my first impression was not a good one.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Nowadays any firewall uses Windows firewall as a base, it's rock solid and safe.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.