Giving Chromium another try... I have few issues

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mattdocs12345, Apr 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Okay so I am a firefox user. Right now Im using iceweasel its debian derivative which is an excellent browser. But I thought I would give chromium a try and see if I can live with it. And maybe convince myself to switch.
    So here are a a few annoyances:
    1. No search bar - the reason I need one is for my bing point. I log in, type "1" and then enter and then "2" and then enter and then "3" and then enter. I am able to do it 30 times in 45 seconds to get my bing money which I use to get $8 Amazon gift card
    2. User agent extension - is there an extension that would make my chromium look like mobile version? Again this is for bing points where I get $3 a month for making 20 searches on mobile.
    3. ABP and Last Pass are both showing annoying numbers in their extensions. For example if ABP is blocking 2 adds it will show little white 2 in a black box. It looks really ugly. Is there a way to not see it? Sure I could hide ABP but Last Pass shows the same numbering and I need Last Pass showing.
    I don't know if I can use Chromium as my main browser but if I can get those 3 annoyances fixed, things would look so much better.
     
  2. SpousalMilk

    SpousalMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    USA
    For your #3 annoyance:
    -click the LastPass icon > Preferences > Notifications > [uncheck] "Show Matching Sites Count in Toolbar"
    -click the ABP icon, click "Ads blocked" and uncheck "Show number in icon"
     
  3. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    1. Most use bots for that but likely against TOS. You could set up a bing search in search engines.

    chrome://settings/ >> Manage search engines

    you will now have to type an extra letter eg b 1 b 2 etc

    2. You can use a Chrome flag to switch user-agent:
    --use-mobile-user-agent
    --user-agent

    http://www.chromium.org/developers/how-tos/run-chromium-with-flags

    3. Posted above
     
  4. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    1. Still not a viable solution. People get their accounts banned for that and I would like to keep mine. Besides it takes me only 45 seconds a day with a dedicated search box. This extends to 2 minutes if I don't have that feature...
    2. This isn't a fast way of switching user agent. In Firefox I have an extension which does that to me with one click. I did find "User-Agent-Switcher" but it requires 3 clicks. Again more time consuming.
    3. Solved :)

    So in a way Chrome is faster but for what I need it to do it is still slower. Mainly due to lack of features and or good extensions. Not sure what to do honestly. Gonna keep it around for awhile...
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I haven't used Chrome for a while. I couldn't find a way to make my bookmarks stay on the screen as they do in Firefox. A Bookmarks Sidebar.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    To my knowledge you can only have the actual bookmarks bar stay showing.
     
  7. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Perhaps Search Bar fits your needs. I haven't tried it but it looks good. I've been using Search Box myself but I think the first one might be better.
     
  8. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    Matt

    The real idea is to just create a new chrome shortcut and add the command line argument for opening multiple urls (Bing searhces) and with/without the useragent swap.

    Now that's one click per agent and can be scheduled.

    Another way is with a bookmark folder with Bing searches in it: right click > open all bookmarks

    If you want to use extensions, use an agent-switcher with a url sniffer. It will switch user agent automatically when hitting m.bing.com
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  9. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Seems complicated but makes sense. Im on Linux so not sure how easy/hard it is to do that...
    That's a very good idea. Will give a try and see if it works.
    Is there a specific user agent you could suggest?
     
  10. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
  11. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Right click on ADP button -> Hide Button.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.