GhostWall v1.150 - Error creating ghostwall firewall driver

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by delphin, Apr 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. delphin

    delphin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Russia
    Hello!

    I had an error with this firewall: "error creating ghostwall firewall driver".
    Google found this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=131571. There are no solution. But I find it!
    I can't post there because it's closed. But if somebody can do it, please repost a solution:

    For Windows XP. Every time you start GhostWall, it adds a new parameter GhostWall in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run.
    It's no necessary to start firewall for every user. So, you must:
    1. Log in as an administrator.
    2. Start GhostWall.
    3. Delete a parameter GhostWall in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    I use the reg script "clean.reg" to do this:
    4. Log in as a limited user account or any other account - firewall doesn't start and you have no errors.
     
  2. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Ghostwall is discontinued.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Not just that it is discontinued, but it has been at least 5 years if not more.

    Delphin, I suspect the only help you are going to get is the recommendation it's time to change firewalls.

    Pete
     
  4. delphin

    delphin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Russia
    Yes, it's a very old firewall but simple and functional.
     
  5. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    The message pop-up is just a bug; it doesn't mean that Ghostwall is inactive. However you must add ghostwall again to the startup for it to be active.
     
  6. delphin

    delphin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Russia
    No, if you're already logged in as an administrator.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.