Ghost calling home

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by beethoven, Sep 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    I upgraded to the new version of GS yesterday and noticed that the suite is trying to call ghostsecurity. I never noticed this behavious before.
    Jason, could you please confirm that this is intended (I guess to check for updates) and how often this is meant to happen?
    Also, if not allowing this, would this cause any issues apart from the update not being automatic?
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    It is intended. It's a new feature. I would say let it be. Setup a rule on your fw to allow it. I did.

    Trooper

    EDIT: You can disable this feature if you want. Forgot to mention it before, sorry. :oops:
     
  3. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    As Trooper reported, it is a feature called Automatic Updating, that you can disable if you want to perform these sorts of checks manually. :)
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Jason!! Was there an Update just now?

    Cheers,
     
  5. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Last update was about 12 hours ago or so.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well something is up!! Third time Today I get the notification to update so I do and it says It has shut down to install then it's wants to reboot so I let it.

    o_O o_O
     
  7. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Make sure you aren't holding down the SHIFT KEY when clicking check now. That will force an update.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    No I was not Holding Down any Key. And this morning it happen Once as a Notification popped up and said that there was an Update! And I let it do it's thing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.