Getting scheduled backup into 1 file

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by brutus, Apr 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brutus

brutus Registered Member

I'm new to True Image server. I've got a server setup to do a nightly incrimental backup. I notice that it doesn't just update the file from the first backup. Instead, it creates a new small file each night. Am I doing something wrong or, is my storage space going to eventually fill up because of all these small files?

If this is the way it's supposed to work, what does everyone do out there? Create seperate folders for each server? Clean up old files?

Also, how does this work for a restore? Can I just grab the file from the night before and True Image is smart enough to figure out what it needs from the other files?

2. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

Since you selected "incremental" backup, that's exactly what it is doing, backing up only the files that have changed. I don't do incrementals so can't answer the other Qs.

3. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

To restore, just select any one of the files. You will then be given a list of dates to choose from (the dates the FULL and INCs were created).

4. Howard Kaikow

Howard Kaikow Registered Member

Well, I hope that you are using more than one set of backup files, each on different media.

If you run a full, then incremental backups, unless you want to save ALL incrementals so you can restore to each of those points in time, you would, at a time of your choosing, delete the files on one of the backup media and create a new FULL backup.

Using differential backups would take even more disk space.

5. brutus

brutus Registered Member

So, should I be scheduling a full backup each Friday then incrimentals on every other night?

When the full runs, do I need to manually delete the previous incrimentals or it True Image smart enough to figure it out?

6. TheWeaz