Getting rid of Adware.Websearch and Adware.Huntbar

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Ingos, Jan 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ingos

    Ingos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Using XP. Have had no luck getting rid of Adware.Websearch and Huntbar. Have gone to the Symantec site, did download the huntbar removal but no results. Have tried everything I think of, but simple computer user. Any help at this point more than appreciated. Now using Spywareblaster, Spywareguard, SpyBot.
     
  2. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Firstly, you have posted in the wrong place, but its alright as everyone does it.

    Secondly, you may need to stop the actually program side from running first, this can be done by going into Task Manager and stopping the process which appears to be adware, then run something like ad-aware while it is not running.

    Alternatively you may be able to do the same running windows in safe mode.

    Jimbob
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2005
  3. Ingos

    Ingos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks so much Jimbob. New to these threads. Not that familiar with moving around in Windows environment, but will work in the direction of the Task Bar first.
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  5. Ingos

    Ingos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the reply snowbound. Have the free Adaware running also, use it most every day. So far none of what I have downloaded has gotten those pesky critters. In fact, nothing but Norton Antivirus has caught them. I delete them there, but they show up next scan.
     
  6. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Ingos, ;)

    Try booting in safe mode (tap F8 while PC is booting), select option 1 for WinXP - "Safe Mode" ... Navigate to where the files are and delete them or Run Nav in safe mode and try again to delete them (note: you'll have to load NAV manually ... just click the icon.)

    Report back and let us know the outcome either way.

    Steve
     
  7. dog

    dog Guest

    Actually Spychecker has some info for you. http://www.spywareguide.com/product_show.php?id=426 ... there are 2 removal tools listed there

    To manually remove it here are the instructions:

    Steve
     
  8. Ingos

    Ingos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Dog - thanks for the direction. All this is new, so bear with. Will have to figure this all out step by step.
     
  9. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Just to recap, the problem seems to be that whatever you are trying to remove is in use when you are trying to remove it and so you have to shut it down first.

    Jimbob
     
  10. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Programs like AdAware are quite capable of 'killing' processes before attempting to remove them. If AdAware fails to do the job how on earth do you expect a Newbie to do it?

    Ingos, you might have a multiple infection here which will require special treatment. Before we take this matter further you should try following the advice given in the general cleaning instructions here:- https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=256853

    When you've done that come back here and we will give you some further instruction on how to proceed.
     
  11. Ingos

    Ingos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Wow!! Thanks for this further info. Have been reading all I can to get somewhat up to speed. Seems I have more to do. Much thanks.
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    If they keep coming back after you have gotten rid of them they could be in system restore. You might want to turn off system restore and then off the computer reboot the computer and then turn system restore again and then do another scan and see if they come back that time.

    bigc
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi TopperID, the link you have given is for users that have Nod32 Anti-virus, the actual link for all other Anti-virus users is General Cleaning in the Virus and Trojan Support Issues forum under "viruses and worms". The difference being it advises NOT to use an additional Anti-virus program, as this may cause further problems...

    Cheers :D
     
  14. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Whoops! :oops:

    Must have got the wrong link in my haste. :mad:
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, no worries, just giving you a heads up ;) :D
     
  16. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think you can remove Adware.Websearch by going to add/remove programs and picking remove. then do a scan with adaware
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.