Getting a Router. What to set up?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by muf, Oct 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. muf

muf Registered Member

Hi all,

I've ordered a router. Don't know much about them but I know it is NAT and has a firewall(these may be one and the same as far as I know).

Ok, at the moment I use DSL/Cable modem plugged direct into my pc. I know that I need to connect this between the DSL/Cable modem and PC. One thing I was wondering is that I read on forums people saying they connected a router and they failed to get stealth at ShieldsUP and other such places. I've seen mention of 'port forwarding' or 'forwarding' my IP address or something. What I'm looking for are a few basic tips on what to expect as I don't expect to connect it up and plug it in and it works and nothing needs tweaking. Will I need to go into the routers settings and enter details of my IP address?

As you can see, i'm a novice at this and looking for a bit of advise so that I don't connect up find I can't connect to the net and go into a state of panic.

muf

2. Alphalutra1

Alphalutra1 Registered Member

What kind of router is it?

Usually, routers are pretty plug'n'play actually. If your internet connection is DHCP, then the router will work right away. However, if it is PPPoE(if you have a user name and a password), then you will have to input this into the router. Also, if it is wireless, you will need to configure that to be encrypted, or turn it off if you aren't using it.