Get your FREE KNOS Demo

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by CloneRanger, May 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Here at last :thumb:

     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Open Office? Was that not discontinued?
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No, Oracle put it under community support.
     
  4. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    CloneRanger, have you been able to find KNOS DEMO iso checksums?

    I've posted a question on their forum about it but perhaps you've seen/found them already?
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    No, but i havn't DL'd it yet. It should be totally safe direct from the source though :thumb: If you play with it, let us know how it goes :)
     
  6. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    C/p'ed from the KNOS forum; link

    The demo checksums (RAR file, versions 2.1) are:

    knos32-demo.rar 646,154,705 bytes
    ------------------------------------------------
    CRC32: 2A13D712
    MD5: E7C3FA70CC089A211C1BF25048BE7B6B
    SHA-1: EB5B958C6787B43D629D7846868DD3F590AD2174

    knos64-demo.rar 697,864,514 bytes
    ------------------------------------------------
    CRC32: 8E900292
    MD5: 2A2CA48BBEFEE50ACBEE5982A6E6E5F7
    SHA-1: 87CDAF95B9719F038DA8BA6372C0FA031201FF7F

    Unpacked files:

    knos32-demo.iso (inside rar file) 684,052,480 bytes
    --------
    CRC32: F4B68AE7
    MD5: 6909E24B7D8C6E9F9EEE76BAA035D59C
    SHA-1: 426C12DA7094CBE49D83FD96BEFB77CB0EB82DAD

    knos64-demo.iso (inside rar file) 742,017,024 bytes
    ----------
    CRC32: F2186088
    MD5: 73C8624A079814C6E6952036F299F35A
    SHA-1: 57F0F8FA69F15B943DEA54D98854B1D17B8866BB
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2011
  7. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Testing went not completely flawless.
    I've booted KNOS Demo x86 succesfully on an old desktop (Athlon 3000+, 1,5GB), Firefox worked fine (through LAN) but when I tried to change the desktop appearance, the machine got stuck.
    Nothing important of course; the desktop appearance but changing it, brought the OS to a full stop.
    Keyboard and mouse would not respond anymore. I have not yet tried to repeat this.

    I didn't manage to boot succesfully on an old IBM laptop (PentiumM, 1 GB).
    Halfway through the boot process, the screen went black, no more videosignal apparantly.
    Perhaps this old machine simply is too old.
    However, these are the KNOS Sys reqs link.

    Mind you, I've tried to run it on pretty old hardware, I might try it later on, on a more recent Core2Duo/2GB laptop and a new desktop with a modern AMD quad-core later on. But now I've got to run...
    Please, don't let this put anyone off, testing sofar was all on hardware most folks would have binned by now.

    KNOS Demo also offers, after booting up, an option to make a bootable USB version of it, so I'll try that later on.
    I'd love to hear other folks' opinions/experiences with this 'Kevin and Nancy' OS.

    (Who are Kevin and Nancy McAleavey? KNOS Information link
     
  8. Kevin McAleavey

    Kevin McAleavey Security Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Sorry to hear that. While both of those machines are older boxes and we've had to lean our automatic detection towards the vagueries of newer machines, they should meet the minimum standards to be happy with KNOS. It sounds like your two might not have turned up during our two years of beta testing and it would be most useful if we can find out what's going on there and why in order to improve our hardware detection for a future update under our maintenance plan.

    If you'd be willing to come back over to our forum and post up the problem, KNOS has the ability to give us diagnostics information on what went wrong there which can help us get to the bottom of it and fix it. Apparently we saw a GUI crash there on the first machine where it might have run out of video memory, and apparently there is a BIOS issue with the laptop. There are probably ways to work around both of those issues until we can find a solution if you'd like to help us out.

    And THANKS for giving it a try ... let's see what we can do about that.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.