Get only a blanking black cursor...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by toluan, Feb 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toluan

    toluan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Boot CD would not boot up...

    I have create 2 separate cd recovery disk and neither one of them will boot up during the boot process. When I try to look the data via another XP machine, it says it is a music file...

    Does this mean my laptop, doesn't recognize these boot cd?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Re: Boot CD would not boot up...

    Is your laptop setup in the bios to boot from a cd first? Did you try the cd in another system? What version and build of TI are you using?
     
  3. toluan

    toluan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Re: Boot CD would not boot up...

    yes - the laptop is brand new and 1 week old.
     
  4. toluan

    toluan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    After creating the reboot media(cd or usb drive), I only get a blinking cursor...
     
  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    You'll have to provide a lot more details.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello toluan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please clarify the following?

    - The exact product name and the build number of the product, which you can find in the Help -> About dialog (the build number should be a 3 or 4 digit number).

    - Did you get the selection screen advising you to choose either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option when booted from Acronis True Image Bootable CD?

    If yes, then please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Note that if you use an older version of Acronis True Image (version 8.0 or lower) you should press F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears and not when the selection screen appears (Acronis True Image 8.0 Bootable Rescue CD for example does not have any selection screen).

    If that does not help, please do the following to provide us with some additional information that would allow us to investigate this issue thoroughly and to provide you with a possible solution:

    - Boot your computer from the Acronis True Image Bootable CD and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears.

    - After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, remove the word "quiet", click on the OK button then and choose "Full Version".

    When the screen stop scrolling please write down the output information you receive (last 5 lines), or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens and send the captured information to Acronis Support Team. You can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys to scroll the screen manually.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    P.S. I have merged two threads you have started since they concern the same issue. Please try to avoid posting duplicate requests in the future as it makes us as well as other forum members do a double work sometimes.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.