Geswall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by waters, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    If Geswall was set up as default and then downloaded some virus,would it stop it from sending out data,or would i need a firewall
     
  2. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    It depends on the browser used. Untrusted files may be able to connect out but not have access to your data. If you are using a browser not supported by the default GW ruleset the file would be trusted and therefore your data would not be safe.
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I use Firefox.I am used to using Sandboxie and its restrictions on internet access.
    I am trying out Geswall before installing it on my sons laptop
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Sandboxie is easy to set for internet access ,and is what i use,Geswall looks too hard to add these rules for him
     
  6. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    so he needs to open another thread asking for instructions on how to add rules to an unsupported browser for geswall...right
     
  7. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Wrong ,he uses Firefox.
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You don't need to add rules to geswall. It runs extremely well out of the box.
     
  9. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    i think rules for cs/dvd and usb has to be added..that i remember is in the q&a
     
  10. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    So malware has no internet access
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.