Geswall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by waters, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    951
    If Geswall was set up as default and then downloaded some virus,would it stop it from sending out data,or would i need a firewall
     
  2. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    It depends on the browser used. Untrusted files may be able to connect out but not have access to your data. If you are using a browser not supported by the default GW ruleset the file would be trusted and therefore your data would not be safe.
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    951
    I use Firefox.I am used to using Sandboxie and its restrictions on internet access.
    I am trying out Geswall before installing it on my sons laptop
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    951
    Sandboxie is easy to set for internet access ,and is what i use,Geswall looks too hard to add these rules for him
     
  6. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    so he needs to open another thread asking for instructions on how to add rules to an unsupported browser for geswall...right
     
  7. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    951
    Wrong ,he uses Firefox.
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,965
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You don't need to add rules to geswall. It runs extremely well out of the box.
     
  9. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    i think rules for cs/dvd and usb has to be added..that i remember is in the q&a
     
  10. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    951
    So malware has no internet access
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.