geswall versus flash player

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tipo, Oct 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    hi!
    i have a problem with geswall and adobe flash player. when i start firefox (isolated by geswall) and try to watch an youtube movie or any other site movie, firefox just crashes. any advice what to do would be greatly apreciated.
    thanks in advance!
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What if you run FF out of GW?
    Can you post a log of geswall.

    Thanks
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    have you tried running it as Non-Isolated just once and relaunching it?
     
  5. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Are you running the Vids full screen?
    Flash don't like full screen mode sometimes.
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Tipo,

    It is very easy to see what goes wrong. You have to provide some info from the GW log.

    Open GW console, browse to log, scroll to bottem, remember time of last old entry

    Start Firefox, go see a movie and refresh F5 the log, scroll to bottem and cut out the new log lines. Experienced GW users can help you then.
     
  7. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I use GeSWall and had this problem too. It turns out that the problem is the container that Firefox now uses for things like Flash. To fix this do the following.

    1) Open the Geswall console.

    2) Click on Applications -> Web Browsers -> Mozilla Firefox

    -"Add rules" of type "File" and use setting "allow" for the following:

    A) \Device\NamedPipe\chrome
    B) \Device\NamedPipe\gecko-crash-server-pipe

    After I did that I had no more problems with Youtube or any other flash site with GeSWall. Under Isolated Applications a new entry will show up when you visit a flash site called plugin-container.exe.
     
  8. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    yes and it runs like new. when i launch it isolated and browse to flash movies site and try to open one movie it just freezes.
     
  9. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    2010.10.22 22:25:58 firefox.exe ISOLATE on access to 127.0.0.1:1051 (Network)
    2010.10.22 22:26:00 firefox.exe READONLY access to \Device\NamedPipe\lsass (File)
    2010.10.22 22:26:21 firefox.exe READONLY access to \Device\NamedPipe\lsass (File)
    2010.10.22 22:26:21 plugin-containe ISOLATE on start from firefox.exe
    2010.10.22 22:26:25 plugin-containe READONLY access to \Device\NamedPipe\lsass (File)
    2010.10.22 22:26:26 plugin-containe READONLY access to HKU\S-1-5-21-682003330-1614895754-1417001333-1003\Software\Microsoft\Direct3D\MostRecentApplication (Registry)
     
  10. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    that log is after I made the modifications provided by cm1971.
    now it works. thanks alot cm1971 and all of you guys!
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  12. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    You are welcome. One of the links aigle posted is where I got that from. It took a little bit for me to run up on that. I'm just glad there was an easy fix for it.
     
  13. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    thanks to you. another freeze from firefox and geswall and I would immediately uninstall geswall. it`s a good application but if plugin container is now integrated in firefox geswall must be upgraded.
     
  14. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    Maybe it will be taken care of in version 3.0 when it is released.

    Whenever that may be.....
     
  15. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Gets kinda old waiting,especially when they dont even give a time frame it'll be released in.
     
  16. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    the free license says it will expire 12.12.2010. who knows maybe after that date will be replaced with the new version.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.