GesWall Test review:)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jmonge, Mar 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i also tested Dynamic Security Agent againts one of the links matt used for testing GesWall and DSA passed very easilly;) it was the last link he uses the very last one:)
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Interesting review, this might inspire me to give geswall a shot myself :D
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool;) GesWall is same as DefenseWall,well similar:D
    DefenseWall is very easy to use:)
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye ive used defensewall and i liked it, i just didnt feel like making programs trusted when needed :doubt: im lazy :D
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    lol:D
     
  7. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    I find GesWall easier to configure.
    And the automatic allow/deny pre-configurations that come with the initial install is a plus :thumb:
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    if anyone here uses GesWall, would i be able to us it with Avira Antivir + DriveSentry?
     
  9. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I agree. It's pretty secure "out-of-the-box."

    I've been using GW Pro for a few months now and haven't come across any real software conflicts. I don't know that it would be necessary though to use this on top of your 2 current apps.

    Do you have the AV of DS disabled or are you using both AV's at the same time?
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    AV is DS is disabled ofcourse :D just using the sorta HIPS function of it. only reason i ask if GesWall would work is cuz DS is soo god dam quiet i dont even feel like im safe :p i know its protecting though cuz when i update something it asks if i want to trust the modified files, but other then that, extremely quiet, possibly too quiet, haha never thought there could be such a thing. guess im just too used to noisy apps, and a tiny bit paranoid :D
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    GesWall makes DS kind of redundant. It secures files and registry, only from untrusted sources, so with avira beta 9 that would be quite sufficient. You could use Anvir free taskmanager behind Avira and GeSwall to protect your startup regoistry keys, when you would like to tackle things twice :)
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thx for the info, i guess ill stick with DS for now, if i can make 1 request to the guys over at DS, its to decrease the whitelist (i know, u wuldnt normally hear that) but i want more popups (just not as much as a full blown HIPS) :D
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    or, you could just use Geswall.;)
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i was considering that to, but i just love DriveSentry, so i stick with it now that its no longer buggy :D
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no offense but DS is really pathetic. I do know a few malware behind the scenes testers and they all give it a thumbs down. I am sorry for saying that but it is true. A better combo would be the Kees approach with Geswall and Avira free set to only scan on writing. It really doesnt get better then that.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    that will depend on how you configure Drive Sentry you can make this baby really tight,the beauty of this software it is that it doesnt depend only on signiture but it is rich to configure and get benefits(peace of mind out of it)
     
  17. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    very tru, i got mine configured to not allow any reigstry or disk access unless i go in and manually allow the app to, and DS has never failed my own personal tests, everything ive thrown at it gets alerted to. then again nothing is perfect i suppose.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    that is good, you can keep on thinking that.:cautious:
     
  19. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I like my security app to be quiet unless there is something I NEED to know.

    Nice avatar trjam.
     
  20. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i like to have some popups :D probly just my paranoia :p
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yoiu keep on using Norman, damn fine suite. That and Avira get my vote. Of course I am using F-Secure AV.
     
  22. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    Actually I'm an NOD32 guy in disguise.
     
  23. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Just to get back on topic, I used GesWall with Avira PE for over a year and it never failed me. The only reason I'm not using it now is the issue I had with FF 3.1 beta and Java. I know I probably needed to configure Geswall a certain way but the cpu would get smoked while java was trying to update. So I opted for SBIE in place of Geswall.

    Ice
     
  24. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    With most of my updating I have had to temporarily run the application non-isolated to perform the update and then after that I was good.
     
  25. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I tested geswall with the same links that the guy tested in his video on a vista machine .It blocked them allright ,however i dont get any red attack notifications (as shown in the video) even thohgh i have it enabled.Any other vista users here can confirm lack of attack notification using the links the guy used in his video?
    ellison
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.