GesWAll conflict with CFP v 3

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by aigle, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Using GW 2.7 beta and CFP v 3.0.14.276

    If I launch any application inside GW( isolated), I get a lot of popups about the application istalling a global hook MSCTF.dll and these popups can,t be remembered no matter how many times i choose rememmber and allow.

    Only workaround at the moment is to apply a pre-defined security policy9 like treat as isolated application) that gets rid of this pop up but it causes a lot of CPU spikes.

    If i disable GW policy, no such alerts.

    I wonder if anyone has noticed it. I have posted it here.

    http://forums.comodo.com/bug_reports/geswall_conflict_with_cfp_v_3-t17408.0.html

    Any workaround until they might fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Wow, that surely hurts :D o_O
    This is why I really hate classical HIPS.
     
  3. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    Work-around seems simple.

    Run either one or the other, not both!
     
  4. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    642
    i'm running geswall 2.6 and the latest version of CFPv3 and no conflicts at all, even on two separate machines. i hope they resolve this conflict somehow, because if they don't and worse comes to worse, i'll disable D+ on comodo.
     
  5. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    aigle,even if its a bit out of topic i want to tell you that i am running at the moment GeSWAll 2.6 free + ProSecurity 1.40 + ComodoV3 BUT without Defense+,which is installed but inactive.
    I dont have any issue using these three.
    All of them are very light in resource consumption.
    No conflict if both Comodo and ProSecurity are allowed one day learning + importing of previous rules in PSec 1.40 case.
    Perhaps the crux of the matter is in GesWall 2.7.
    (is version 2.7 only for selected persons or open to the public? I couldnt find a download)
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    No, as you have disabled Defence+, so that might be the reason that u are getting no conflicts. Can u chck with D+ enabled?

    Thanks
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s a non-public beta. It,s a bit buggy ATM- some applications stuck a while when launching inside GW.

    If u want I can upload it for you. PM me in that case.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Not sure what u mean zopzop. Are u running Defence+ and GW v 2.6 at the same time on any machine?
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s not a work around indeed. It,s a work-away!:D

    BTW is there any option in CFP to mark a dll trusted? That may solve the issue!
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2007
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Actually I have used GW with so many other HIPS like SSM, NG, EQS, AD etc and never got such a popups for MSCTF.dll. It,s only CFP that gives popups for this dll. That,s strange. There are some other popups as well with CFP that i never got with other HIPS but they are not an issue BTW.
     
  11. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    642
    yes sorry aigle, i should have been more clear. i have geswall 2.6 and comodo v3 with D+ enabled running on my laptop and on my desktop with no conflicts at all.
     
  12. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    A beta of GesWall? Looks like yet another possible reason....
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anyway i did reported it to Brian as well. Let,s see if he responds.
     
  14. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    Very kind on your part. Please do, so i will have something to do around Xmas , for me a rather boring period. Moreover, as i like GeSWall doings a lot ,i'm curious to have a glimpse of what is revealed next month.

    Please,dont ask me that! Enabling Defense in Comodo with the latest ProSecurity 1.40,just recently installed, would DEFINETELY court disaster!
    As i have this combination in my main computer which i try to keep ok all the time, you would force me to make another image at the odds of 1 to 10 (superfavourite odds).
    On the other hand, i think i've found a fabolous combination without any hassle and taking care of 99% of threats with
    ProSecurity 1.40 (still very light,almost omni-comprehensive and understandable by medium knowledge guys like me)+ GeSWall 2.6 free (also super-light and covers the territory which i could lapse making mistakes or wrong judgements)+ Comodo 3 without Defense (i dont need it ,running PS, but GUY and network section are a bit better than version 2.4, also i hope it will remember rules,contrary to its predecessor).If they make a new version with a separate module for Defense+ i'll reinstall it avoiding this part altogether ,instead of just disabling it like i do now.

    Regards,poirot
     
  15. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    The * policy should have worked, but it didn't. Is your * policy at the top of the "Computer Security Policy"?
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I put dll as trusted but it did not ork.
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,890
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I remember a similar problem that I had with older versions of SBIE. SSM would always alert about stuff triggered by SandboxieRpcSs.exe and SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe (very annoying), but luckily tzuk changed something, and the alerts disappeared. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2007
  18. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    According to Brian, it is a Comodo issue, a bug he believes. GeSWall
    doesn't install global hooks and doesn't use MSCTF.dll.

    So they cannot fix this, it is up to Comodo developers.
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Good news that the conflict is gone with latest version of CFP. :thumb: :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.