GesWAll conflict with CFP v 3

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by aigle, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Using GW 2.7 beta and CFP v 3.0.14.276

    If I launch any application inside GW( isolated), I get a lot of popups about the application istalling a global hook MSCTF.dll and these popups can,t be remembered no matter how many times i choose rememmber and allow.

    Only workaround at the moment is to apply a pre-defined security policy9 like treat as isolated application) that gets rid of this pop up but it causes a lot of CPU spikes.

    If i disable GW policy, no such alerts.

    I wonder if anyone has noticed it. I have posted it here.

    http://forums.comodo.com/bug_reports/geswall_conflict_with_cfp_v_3-t17408.0.html

    Any workaround until they might fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Wow, that surely hurts :D o_O
    This is why I really hate classical HIPS.
     
  3. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    Work-around seems simple.

    Run either one or the other, not both!
     
  4. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    i'm running geswall 2.6 and the latest version of CFPv3 and no conflicts at all, even on two separate machines. i hope they resolve this conflict somehow, because if they don't and worse comes to worse, i'll disable D+ on comodo.
     
  5. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    aigle,even if its a bit out of topic i want to tell you that i am running at the moment GeSWAll 2.6 free + ProSecurity 1.40 + ComodoV3 BUT without Defense+,which is installed but inactive.
    I dont have any issue using these three.
    All of them are very light in resource consumption.
    No conflict if both Comodo and ProSecurity are allowed one day learning + importing of previous rules in PSec 1.40 case.
    Perhaps the crux of the matter is in GesWall 2.7.
    (is version 2.7 only for selected persons or open to the public? I couldnt find a download)
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    No, as you have disabled Defence+, so that might be the reason that u are getting no conflicts. Can u chck with D+ enabled?

    Thanks
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s a non-public beta. It,s a bit buggy ATM- some applications stuck a while when launching inside GW.

    If u want I can upload it for you. PM me in that case.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Not sure what u mean zopzop. Are u running Defence+ and GW v 2.6 at the same time on any machine?
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s not a work around indeed. It,s a work-away!:D

    BTW is there any option in CFP to mark a dll trusted? That may solve the issue!
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2007
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Actually I have used GW with so many other HIPS like SSM, NG, EQS, AD etc and never got such a popups for MSCTF.dll. It,s only CFP that gives popups for this dll. That,s strange. There are some other popups as well with CFP that i never got with other HIPS but they are not an issue BTW.
     
  11. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    yes sorry aigle, i should have been more clear. i have geswall 2.6 and comodo v3 with D+ enabled running on my laptop and on my desktop with no conflicts at all.
     
  12. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    A beta of GesWall? Looks like yet another possible reason....
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anyway i did reported it to Brian as well. Let,s see if he responds.
     
  14. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    Very kind on your part. Please do, so i will have something to do around Xmas , for me a rather boring period. Moreover, as i like GeSWall doings a lot ,i'm curious to have a glimpse of what is revealed next month.

    Please,dont ask me that! Enabling Defense in Comodo with the latest ProSecurity 1.40,just recently installed, would DEFINETELY court disaster!
    As i have this combination in my main computer which i try to keep ok all the time, you would force me to make another image at the odds of 1 to 10 (superfavourite odds).
    On the other hand, i think i've found a fabolous combination without any hassle and taking care of 99% of threats with
    ProSecurity 1.40 (still very light,almost omni-comprehensive and understandable by medium knowledge guys like me)+ GeSWall 2.6 free (also super-light and covers the territory which i could lapse making mistakes or wrong judgements)+ Comodo 3 without Defense (i dont need it ,running PS, but GUY and network section are a bit better than version 2.4, also i hope it will remember rules,contrary to its predecessor).If they make a new version with a separate module for Defense+ i'll reinstall it avoiding this part altogether ,instead of just disabling it like i do now.

    Regards,poirot
     
  15. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    The * policy should have worked, but it didn't. Is your * policy at the top of the "Computer Security Policy"?
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I put dll as trusted but it did not ork.
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I remember a similar problem that I had with older versions of SBIE. SSM would always alert about stuff triggered by SandboxieRpcSs.exe and SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe (very annoying), but luckily tzuk changed something, and the alerts disappeared. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2007
  18. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    According to Brian, it is a Comodo issue, a bug he believes. GeSWall
    doesn't install global hooks and doesn't use MSCTF.dll.

    So they cannot fix this, it is up to Comodo developers.
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Good news that the conflict is gone with latest version of CFP. :thumb: :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.