Geswall and IDM

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by zerotox, Mar 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zerotox

zerotox Registered Member

Hello guys! Would you please help me with my issue. I'm using Geswall Free and it prevents me downloading files in firefox through IDM. Instead
    it downloads them with the built-in firefox download manager. Is there a way to make IDM work again?

Thanks a lot

2. zerotox

Please guys, can anyone help me, I tried even never isolate for Internet download manager and again, Geswall wouldn't let firefox access it to download a file with it instead of with the buit-in downlader.

3. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

I know it's a ghost town but have you posted your issue in geswall's support forums??

4. zerotox

Well no actually. Thanks for the idea. Should've done it, may be I'll get help.

5. aigle

aigle Registered Member

Well I am not an expert. All you have to do is just see the geswall log and add some rules to allow IDM to run isolated and access necessary resources, files and reg enteries.

I tried and this worked. Add IDm to always run as Always Isolated. Add these Allow ruels for IDM.

C:\Documents and Settings\Shahbaz\Application Data\IDM\*
    C:\Documents and Settings\Shahbaz\My Documents\Downloads\*
    HKU\S-1-5-21-4283323769-3592583927-3463341776-1006\Software\DownloadManager\ShowTipOnFirstCatch
    HKU\S-1-5-21-4283323769-3592583927-3463341776-1006\Software\DownloadManager\

Reboot your PC and it should work now. There may be better rules and you can even use the rules wizard. Also rules will change if you change some settings of IDM, like download folder location etc. I used defaults.

Note that all your download will be isolated and you need to them or run them as trsuted in order to install them.

1.jpg
    1 (1).jpg
    1 (3).jpg
    1 (4).jpg
    1 (5).jpg

6. zerotox