GeSWall 2.8.3 network control question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kees1958, Jan 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Guys,

    I though it was easy:

    a) change at resources

    Path: * Network Restrict for Trusted


    b) at the specific application

    * Network Allow

    This should work, only with me it stops all traffic?

    How to enable network for applications?

    Cheers (did a re-install, complete new install, but nothing changed)
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  2. Henk1956

    Henk1956 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Thise are exactly the rules I use and it works.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    how can i get a free licence key for the free version?via email?or how?any idea?thanks
     
  4. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    You don't need a key for the free version. Just go here and download the freeware version.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Free doesn,t need a key. There is 1 month trial of pro as well.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i tried that and even if i tried to get the free version it asked me for a licence keyo_O very strangeo_O
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Go for the trial of Pro, after trial it converts to free version.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks that for sure will work:thumb:
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    For me it works on XP. You are using Vista?

    BTW I hope you have removed the default network rule of Confidential.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    YEP,

    Running XP Pro. And removed the the default rule (noticed that you could enter same network rule several times, I guess it takes the first it encounters).

    Tried re-installing, clean installing, running admin ?

    It is fun to see how GeSWall uses Windows internals mechanismes (THE reason why GeSWall uses less CPU cycles than DefenseWall). When you run Chrome or Iron, you have to exclude dll's in the Software Restriction Policies. Even with NO SRP policies and choosing this option, IRON will not run under the GeSWall when you choose SRP to be applicable for all executables. When you omit DLL's Chrome/Iron run under GeSWall

    I hope next file system (of Windows 7) will overcome the NTFS limitations, which now puts GeSWaal behind DefenseWall for unexperienced users (the total untrusted file control competitive advantage of DW).

    Cheers
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What do u mean by this?

    Thanks
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ahh what downloaded newest version


    Currently running only Avast and newest GeSWall Pro

    Did not work, installed the fastest HIPS around with network control: Malware Defender and guess what: DW + MD don not like each other. Got slow downs with program start ups.

    Choices, choices, choices

    A) Avira Free with DefenseWall = safest + user friendliest for now no outbound control (will be in DW 2.5)

    B) Malware Defender V2 beta + Avast = very very very very fast - some pop-ups

    C) Malware Defender V2 beta (cover some basics, contain interet facing aps in a default deny plus outbound control) + ThreatFire = very fast and few pop-ups

    D) ThreatFire and GeSWall = fast and secure with few pop-ups

    E) Online Armor (DUTCH) + Avast (DUTCH) + GeSWall = classic tripple setup with few pop-ups and evertything in Dutch (in case the security aps trigger a pop-up at least other users are able to get a clue of what reply is needed)


    AHHHHHHHHHHHHH


    For me the above provides some strange observations
    a) I prefer DW over GW (the untrusted file control issue), but when writing down my favourite combo's GW is more often present than DW which is remarkeble on its own (?)
    b) I do not like classical HIPS, but Malware Defender can be tailored to become very quiet, and it is also an option I seem to try out often, strange also !

    (reflections of a security addict)
     
  13. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Found the problem - incompatibility with Avast (reported the self protection file driver, but the Avast network driver would be more valid choice, because MD initially also had an incompability with Avast)
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Good work. How did you find it?
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ehh, the hardway (un-installing all security programs one by one, then building it up again)

    Cheers
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Oh... the usuall way. I thought some other trick may be. :)
     
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Well I gave the pro version a shot again it does not like me,first The popup to isolate disapeared before I could check yes isolate my browser,I had to right click it to set. Then when I closed my browser my top desktop Returnil was pulsing green.LOL) In Fact the entire desk Top of my desktop was pulsing Err.Went to Uninstall Nope couldn't not remove it.I had to boot back to rescue snap shot and copy update to rid of it.Defensewall seems to like me I will keep that it works So far.
     
  18. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Oh..... seems the old old bug of explorer.exe isolation.

    It was simple, if u go to GW console and check properties of explorer.exe in Application> System. Make sure it is marked as never isolate. If it is marked something else, delete the rula and add a new rule with Never Isolate option. Reboot now and it should be fixed.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Oh I was not even aware of this,Its pretty obvious I do not know geswall that well.Good screen shot and this post I will refer back to If I install again at a latter and have the same occurance.thanks very helpfull postie indeed. thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.