GesWall 2.6.Beta2 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by aigle, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Download link,

    http://www.gentlesecurity.com/files/geswall.2.6.freeware.beta2.msi

    Among bug fixes, it contains improved Application Wizard with
    automatic rules generation, and termination options(it is available only in Professional Edition mode). Also there is a context menu item to remove "untrusted" labels from files.

    More to follow.:)
     
  2. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Is GesWall compatible with Vista?
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Compatibility with Vista is one of the main goals of this version:
    http://www.gentlesecurity.com/blog/pix/0028.png
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks lucas. I should have added this.

     

    Attached Files:

    • GW.jpg
      GW.jpg
      File size:
      68.5 KB
      Views:
      865
  5. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    so far so good aigle. i really like the way the application wizard has come along in just these few weeks. still needs a little tweaking from the guys over at gentlesecurity. just when i thought i couldn't LOVE geswall anymore than i already do, they go and improve it more ;)

    at this rate, i may uninstall all my other security apps (or keep them only for on demand scanning) except my firewall.
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hello

    I've been investigating sandbox type tools recently
    GeSWall looks good.

    Does it have a way to run a session of any app on a use by basis.

    ie: can I launch FF ( or any other exe ) in a geswall session when I want rather than have ff/all protected all the time ??

    cf: sandboxie has options to "Launch in the sandbox" or "Run sandboxed"

    Thx
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Yes you can. You can leave it to prompt you everytime you open FF for instance.
    Run isolated? - yes ; -no
    If you want, read from their website, and even the manual. It's easy to read and understand, and won't take much time.
     
  8. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thankyou
    I wish I was abit more of a "techy" sometimes make my garbled requests easier to resolve

    How about shell extensions?
    Or from the systray?
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U can do it by right click menue option( just like sandboxie).

    But before that, just to disable all pop ups and default sandboxing behaviour, first u should lower GesWall security level to ' Isolate Jailed Applications'. Or u can just edit the rules for ur browsers and other appliances etc to always run trusted via pop ups or through main console. Infact there might be many ways to achieve this without any popups.

    I will post snapshots after I reinstall, and that will make it clear.
     
  10. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi LongBoard, the solution I posted will not work as I tested on free version. It almost disables GesWall,s policy.

    As I tested on this latest beta( but should work on any version), go by this way.

    After installing GW, make sure GesWall security level is medium( pop up mode). See napshot. It is default mode by the way so u need not worry about it.

    When u will run ur browser or anyother network appliance first time, say FF, u will get a pop up like this( Pic 2). Opt for 'No' and 'Don,t ask again' and no more pop up for FF- Pic3. Then u can run FF from right click menue option, "Run Isolated". I hope it,s clear now.

    If u try, let,s know how it goes. If u want to try first time, I will sugest non- beta version.
     

    Attached Files:

    • GW.jpg
      GW.jpg
      File size:
      39.2 KB
      Views:
      817
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Here is the snapshot 2 and 3.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Hello!

    I am using Geswall free, if i want to try this should i uninstall Geswall free first?
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Not sure but I did a clean install. Beta will also work as limited free version unless u upgrade or opt for a pro trial.
     
  15. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi all,

    Thanks aigle for this information.

    Am i the lonely one that can not connect to Gentle Security's server for update and/or license activation.

    Thanks for you answer
     
  16. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Thanks Aigle for the information. Another quick question, if i decide to have a trial version of Geswall pro beta2 will it convert back to free version after trial or do i have to install free version again?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  17. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,744
    Location:
    New York City
    How much is the pro version ?
    I'm waiting for version 2.7 and Windows built-in ZIP support.
     
  18. lu_chin

    lu_chin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    294
    My Geswall 2.5 & 2.6 beta 2 could not connect to the update server in the last few days too, despite IE could go to www.gentlesecurity.com without any problems.

     
  19. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi lu_chin,

    Many thanks for your answer, wait & see

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  20. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Aigle
    Re: posts #9,11 & 12
    and someone

    Thankyou
    WIll be checking it out in FDISR snap.
     
  21. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Posted on their forum and the issue is now fixed

    MaB
     
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Trial version will install as free version then u can upgrade this Free trial to a Pro trial. After the Pro trial is over, it will itself revert back to free version as I understand.
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi Zopzop. I am really thankful to u as u were the very first one of GesWall users here and u did interesting tests with it that proved its strong defence against nastiest malware.
     
  24. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I really don,t know about these. U can visist their forum.
    I expect version 2.7 to be much more feature rich. A lot more features and improvements to come!
     
  25. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    I have DefenseWall paid running om one machine and GesWall Pro on the other. The reason for having both is DefenseWall is very strong and very simple and GeSWall has an architectural advantage (using windows policy manager).

    GeSWall will be ready for vista x64 ready soon, while DW is busy with a major update (v 2.0). When GeSWall is ready we will update to Vista on the machine of my son (he likes the 20% performance gain of 64 bits, and will problably use the simple GUI). My wife will stay on XP until her work will move on to the next Microsoft OS release. Betting on two horses turned out a good strategy.

    K.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.