Gesswall pro and UAC

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ellison64, Jan 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hello...
    Is it normal for geswall pro to have "disable geswall policy" (right click system tray icon)and "application wizard" (in right click explorer context menu )greyed out and effectively disabled ,unless vista UAC is turned off? .Ive noticed when UAC is disabled they are not greyed out ,however when UAC is enabled they are.Is this by design ?
    ellison
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    In XP Pro when you run limited user it is the same (greyed out)
     
  3. Killtek

    Killtek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    100
    My number one gripe about Geswall ... not 100% compatible with VISTA. Why should I have to disable UAC to disable (and install) a sec app?
     
  4. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Yes it has it's quirks on Vista, like those mentioned, but other than that it runs fine - at least free 2.7.1 with Firefox does.

    BTW, didn't try it myself, but looks like you can be in trouble after installing GW in Vista with SRP implemented..

    http://www.smokey-services.eu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&p=48168
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.