gateway pc will not boot from dvd or removable

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by taleblou, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    Hi:

    A friend asked me to format her pc to windows 7 from windows 10 and its a gateway desktop. The issue is after F12 the boot menu has only boot from boot manager and the arrows when pressed shows nothing else. No dvd rom or removable/USB and no other option.

    I tried and went to BIOS and in there the dvd rom is set first while the boot manger is last and still nothing. The dvd rom plays disk but boot disk not.

    I tried to open linux peppermint in windows 10 to run it but the dvd does load linux and opens the disk instead.

    Its been several hours and all reading and everything I done been useless. never see such difficult pc like this.

    Anyone knows anything or what to do.
     
  2. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Is the DVD a bootable disk? Sounds like your friend bought a PC that had 10 installed and for what ever reason wants to go back to 7?
     
  3. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    yes it is bootable. And the original OP was win 8.1. Also reset failed. even gateway own recovery failed.

    I even put my original win 10 and it would not read. I tried resetting bios andall things nothing works. I think gateway has locked this pc some howo_O
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,206
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Is the "BIOS" in MBR or UEFI Boot mode?
     
  5. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    803
    Location:
    Sverige
    May seem silly but what happens when you place the cd in the drive and power on the computer without pressing f12?
     
  6. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    just the boot manager with only one option and that is for the HDD and not others to choose.
     
  7. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    not UEFI I think.
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    803
    Location:
    Sverige
    the bios knows there's a dvd rom in the machine - could this boot manager need to be configured elsewhere ?
     
  9. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    803
    Location:
    Sverige
    what happens when you start up pressing alt + clicking f10
     
  10. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    5,387
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,206
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    For Win7 you need to be certain it is Secure Boot disabled, Other OS, CSM enabled.
     
  12. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    I did those but no avail. I am cleaning the win 10 and will tell her thats all i can do. live with it. Already 21 malwares were detected and I am removing it and speeding it up and optimizing it and give it to her.

    To hell with gateway pcs. never ever seen anything like this with any PCs I worked with.
     
  13. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    803
    Location:
    Sverige
    strange - never came across a system that wouldn't boot from media, that's one of the inherent functionalities
    still it may've taken awhile to figure it out, time which apparently you needed for other things, so in light of the situation you did the best you could which is all any of us can
     
  14. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,520
    Sometimes in the firmware setup there is an option to enable/disable the F12 boot menu. For example, in Lenovo, "Startup Device Menu Prompt”.
     
  15. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,215
    F was on and bootup menu came up but only with one option and that was from hardrive. no dvd or usb or external. So with no dvd bootup or usb bootup could not fix the pc. I also connected a external dvd and it did not showed too.
     
Loading...