Gaming issues

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Jigga, Apr 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jigga

    Jigga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Hey guys. Been using kerio 2 for a while and decided to switch to looknstop. My question is with games such as americas army and others, whenever I try to play them, it blocks the connection. Do I need to manually set up the ports for each game? Is there an easier way of doing this? Also if I do allow certain port connections wont it leave me vulnerable to any traffic trying to connect through these ports?
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I am not familiar with those games however the short answer is most likely a definitive yes.

    I play a lot of Valve games (via STEAM) which are all the HL, HL2, and other mods that have come out. Steam requires certain TCP and UDP ports to be open in order to play any online multiplayer games.

    My suggestion would be to go and see if the games that you mentiond have a website with an FAQ page or better yet forums. If they do, I am sure that you will get an answer to your question in quick fashion.

    HTH,

    Jag
     
  3. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    You can also add new rules based on the content of the log you will get after you are trying the game.
    With a right click on one alert you can add a rule very easily.

    Frederic
     
  4. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Hi,

    I´m still a Outpost Firewall user, but I heard a lot of LNS.
    Is it easier to setup it than OP ?
    About computer resources, etc ? Better than OP ?

    Thanks for your time and help.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  5. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    "Resource usage" is certainly better (8.060 mem / 3.816 virtual mem) on my WinXP SP2 machine. You can configure a lot, but the interface is less polished then Outpost, you have to learn using it. :D
     
  6. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks for your help.

    I hope it´s better thaan OP, about interface is not important.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.