Games not working

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by zach, Sep 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Can't play games. When I try to load some of my games the computer freezes The screen is black. I haven't had this problem before but I have had this problem since updating to newest version. If I turn off protection then my games work with no problems.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Please check your PMs - I've sent you a link to a new test version which should work much better :)
     
  3. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Thank You .
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hows it working for you?

    TH
     
  5. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    I just installed it. Computer froze again. Rebooted, stopped protection then game worked.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The fix will require a reboot to work properly - could you try re-enabling protection and see if it continues to work?

    Thanks! :)
     
  7. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Yes the reboot worked. So far so good. If I run into any further problems I'll let you know. Thanks for your help.

    Zach
     
  8. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Well I´ve the same problem. I´m using Stardock´s Impulse application for several games, and each time I try to execute a game the computer just freezes and a cold reboot is necessary. Turning off Prevx, and everything works again. The Stardock Impulse application is dependent of MS .net to work, so I suspect the problem maybe has to do with the .net engine.

    The same goes when I´m logging off the user account (Windows XP Pro), and trying to log on my administrator account, everything freezes. Turning off Prevx and the log off/log on process works again.

    /C.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please send a scan log to help Prevx start debugging along with the link to this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TIA,

    TH
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you could please try downloading this new version, it should correct your issues :)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=282800
     
  11. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Yes, it did correct my issues. The .205 build works well so far.

    Thanks!

    /C.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.