Games not working

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by zach, Sep 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Can't play games. When I try to load some of my games the computer freezes The screen is black. I haven't had this problem before but I have had this problem since updating to newest version. If I turn off protection then my games work with no problems.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Please check your PMs - I've sent you a link to a new test version which should work much better :)
     
  3. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Thank You .
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,622
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hows it working for you?

    TH
     
  5. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    I just installed it. Computer froze again. Rebooted, stopped protection then game worked.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The fix will require a reboot to work properly - could you try re-enabling protection and see if it continues to work?

    Thanks! :)
     
  7. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Yes the reboot worked. So far so good. If I run into any further problems I'll let you know. Thanks for your help.

    Zach
     
  8. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Well I´ve the same problem. I´m using Stardock´s Impulse application for several games, and each time I try to execute a game the computer just freezes and a cold reboot is necessary. Turning off Prevx, and everything works again. The Stardock Impulse application is dependent of MS .net to work, so I suspect the problem maybe has to do with the .net engine.

    The same goes when I´m logging off the user account (Windows XP Pro), and trying to log on my administrator account, everything freezes. Turning off Prevx and the log off/log on process works again.

    /C.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,622
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please send a scan log to help Prevx start debugging along with the link to this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TIA,

    TH
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you could please try downloading this new version, it should correct your issues :)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=282800
     
  11. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Yes, it did correct my issues. The .205 build works well so far.

    Thanks!

    /C.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,622
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.