G-Data?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tomdy2k, May 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    I'm trying out total security 2013....I can't any password protection for safe banking..anyway to turn it on?:D
    tom
    I guess its called Bank guard..Trying the trial of total security but I can't find it and the suite is supposed to include it!!!
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2013
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,936
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Tomdy2k...there's a new version...now called G-Data 2014 product line. The Bank Guard is a background component...meaning their is no visible Gui...available unlike those found on Bitdefender or Avast products. But it's supposedly running deep and silent...to offer protection. It's been brought up in previous G-Data threads...it would be reassuring to have a Visible Gui in reassuring the user. Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    that's kind of scary..:eek:
     
  4. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,936
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Towdy2k...their are alternatives available like Trusteer Rapport...now I'm not certain if it works outside of North America...but I've used it and can attest to it's effectiveness...and best of all a lot a banks provide it as a free app for customers...North American banks that is. I reside in Canada and my bank provides the app. I'm sure if you pay a visit too their website...you'll find solutions. Or you can contact G-Data...I would recommend the U.S.A. Or British websites...as the German Website...isn't exactly prompt in providing you with a timely solution. Good Luck...in obtaining the answer to your question and search. Sincerely...Securon
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Why is that?
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    You can check with process explorer: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2220381&postcount=20
     
  7. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I prefer the Bank Guard being hidden. Its working without being in your face and being invisible sometimes is a good thing to stop Malware writers knowing its there or how it functions.
     
  8. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Well all malware writers need to do is install GDATA and then they would know its there and they could also fathom how it functions too.

    All malware writers need to do is read forums like this for the info.

    So the fact it is invisible is totally irrelevant and pointless.
     
  9. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Malware writers generally work off of whats known already to the community. Most of the time they are just as lazy as the rest of us unless its a special circumstance. Hence they won't bother to install software to discover how to break BankGuard. The fact that its harder to notice means there is less chance a malware writer will give a damn and will just focus on general circumvention or other antimalware products.
     
  10. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    I guess not seeing a gui makes me wonder if it works for every banking site:D ....Or like Trend micro there are un supported sites that you have to submit!!
     
  11. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I believe it works similar to Webroot, where it detects HTTPS and acts accordingly.
     
  12. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Agreed.

    They focus on the OS vulnerabilities and/or how to circumvent the most popular antimalware apps.

    On the other side, sadly I had to get rid of the new v2014 momentarily because of conflicts on my machines.
     
  13. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    What's conflicting? I could not imagine it conflicting with anything?
     
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    The AV 2014 v.24.0.1.1 released on 3/14/13 was working very very good on my laptop with Windows 8 Pro for about 3 weeks, until the machine started acting strangely (unable to shut it down properly, random freezings of OS once pc was started up, unable to open most programs and apps) that is, a horrible behavior that I honestly thought at first it was because a hardware failure or so, since I always like to run a single security app on all my pcs to prevent conflicts. Eventually to my surprise, GData was the culprit.

    I am now monitoring GData (Rokop) forums and I know that a couple of updates were released thereafter to fix several issues found in all of their versions, although I'm not sure whether mine is included (it seems it is/was related to their "behavior blocker" feature applied on certain configurations).
    It looks like some people are still experiencing some problems there.
     
  15. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    That's interesting, and also another reason I'm staying with windows 7 until they force me off it. If that day comes its time to learn linux. :D
     
  16. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Coincidence or not, when I woke up this morning I received a pm from a GData support rep. on german forums.
    He sent me a support tool to fix my issue, which apparently will change some files within installed GData build. I will try it later :thumb:
    About Windows 8, I'm very happy with it! ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.